...

View Full Version : Opinion on new website



ironchef
11-15-2002, 03:49 PM
Hey everyone,

Tell me what you think of www.brokenbindings.com. I'd like to get some opinions. It is still in the development stage in certain areas, but we are growing. Thanks for any feedback and feel free to become a member---its free!

Thanks

B.A.
__________________

www.insivia.com --- Pioneers in E-business

www.brokenbindings.com -- The Ultimate College Resource:thumbsup:

meerkat
11-15-2002, 04:03 PM
iron…

Nice site. Couple of things that'll be picked up on, no doubt by other more learned than I…

1. DTD - Document Type Declaration at the beginning…

2. You have no definition for this class and consequently it defaults to Times New Roman
<SPAN CLASS="">
Find scholarships that will help pay for high priced college tuition.<br><br>Coming Soon!
</SPAN>

But apart from this, I think it's fine

meerkat

Majik_Dance
11-15-2002, 04:58 PM
Very nice site.

Something I noticed tho:

I click the Board tab and get sent to the Forum's page, with the USA map - I try to click the Exchange or Entertainment tab and keep getting Runtime Error messages - so, I am trapped unless I use the back button.

Other than that, I like the layout.

:)

druffus
11-15-2002, 06:33 PM
Hey, thanks for the feedback. I am part of the development team for this site also. I was just wondering if you would be kind enough to give me more detail about the error you are getting and what browser you are using. I have tried to emulate the error on different browsers and computers and have not yet been able to do it. It has worked fine for me, but if there is a problem, i'd like to get it fixed. Thanks a lot for the help.

Majik_Dance
11-15-2002, 06:47 PM
All the error messages are as follows:

A Runtime Error has occurred
Do you wish to Debug?

And pop-up twice.

I am in the Forum's page - click the Exchange tab:

Line: 275
Error: Object expected

Click the Board tab:

Line: 278
Error: Object expected

Click the Entertainment tab:

Line: 281
Error: Object expected

IF I get to the Forum page and do not click the tabs but instead click a state, I am sent to the viewforum page and from there, if I click the tabs, get the same Runtime Error message but the Line is 1 digit ahead (ie: Exchange tab would show error on Line 276).

I am running IE 6.

druffus
11-15-2002, 06:51 PM
Thanks a lot. I will look into it.

whammy
11-17-2002, 01:00 AM
I'm not getting those errors on IE 5.5.

druffus
11-17-2002, 01:47 AM
I think that I may have fixed it, but it was a problem with the mouseover and changing the image. Maybe Majik_Dance will have a chance to check it again. I really appreciate it. I never was able to get the error, but saw a problem in my mouseover code and fixed it. Hopefully that was it. Thanks for the feedback.

ionsurge
11-17-2002, 01:05 PM
Nice site. Well done!



Ionsurge.

ironchef
11-17-2002, 02:37 PM
We really apppreciate everyones' feedback. It's great to be part of a group of individuals that help each other out. Thanks again!

ronaldb66
11-18-2002, 10:58 AM
Ironchef, druffus,

great site, i like it a lot! It contains so many elements it runs a risk of getting confusing, but the clean, light layout prevents this; again, an excellent job! Also very good use of different colors in the borders and headers of the various boxy elements so they can be very uniform in size and appearance, adding to the cleanliness, but easily distinguishable at the same time.

I did go over the code briefly, and i'd suggest taking a long hard look at those multiply nested tables again; using a table to lay out the various sections your design consists of is one thing, and well defendable at that, but i saw way too many of them whizzing by. I guess you used nested tables to get nice borders, but many of those effects can be easily achieved using CSS, which would make the site easier to maintain as well.
Oh, and i'm not to thrilled about using may different fonts; a page looks much more consistent and calmer to the eye if one font is used, at least for similar page elements (i.e. one font for all body text, perhaps a different but single font for headers, etc.)

Majik_Dance
11-18-2002, 03:31 PM
Checked it out and everything works great. I was able to navigate the site unimpeded.

I did however chuckle at the Halloween T-Shirt; click to view larger - now, my eyes may be going but it stayed the same size :D I am just getting fussy, right?

:thumbsup:

druffus
11-18-2002, 04:07 PM
Thanks guys for the feedback, it's great. Something that can be applied in both of the two previous comments, a lot is still being worked on. It is a pretty big site and we are trying to get all of it functional and looking as good as possible, then hopefully cleanup some of the messy details - which there are a lot of. May not be the best way to go about it, but what can ya do.

It's a really cool t-shirt, i'll see if we can get that section working and you can get your better look.

Oh yeah, there are only two fonts being used within the site. sometimes the sizes of them get a little hap-hazard, but only becuase we run out of ways to make certain things stand out from each other. But, I will chalk that up to part of the clean-up process.

Thanks for the great words though, I really appreciate them and they help us develop a better site.

Thanks

beetle
11-21-2002, 07:31 PM
Why not use two capital B's in the logo? (pretend Broken is backwards below)

nekorBBindings

instead of

nekorBbindings

I think it'd look cooler to have the mirror-effect.

druffus
11-22-2002, 05:28 PM
Hey thanks for the comment. We actually did try it in the beginning and in consensus thought that the way it is now looked better.

More comments on the design and idea are welcome, thanks a lot for all the feedback.

whammy
11-23-2002, 01:36 AM
I think ronaldb66's reference to multiple fonts included the logos you were using (images) - not just the 2 fonts you're using for text. I didn't look at it tonight, but I remember distinctly thinking the same thing when I originally looked at it.

You had an almost "western" looking font for one of the logos which didn't match anything else on the site, and detracted from the visual appeal. Other than that I thought it was pretty nice. :)

P.S. Yup... I just looked at it again, and you use various fonts in the images that don't match the "text" fonts at all... for instance the main "college" logo, and then you are using Comic Sans above the login. There are more, but you get the idea.

That's one of the things that used to bother me about some of my father's designs, and he was a graphic artist for about as long as I've been alive (32 years) or more. Images or not, that many different font styles DEFINITELY add to the "business" (and I mean "busy" there, lol) of whatever it may be that you're looking at. ;)

Once I got old enough to understand what he was doing (and I was into graphics myself), and he cut down on the number of different fonts he was using, his designs looked a lot more cohesive - because other than fonts, his work was impeccable.

druffus
11-23-2002, 03:34 AM
Yeah. I completely agree with you that less fonts is the way to go and on all of our clients sites and our own there is only one and sometimes a second one. It is surely a more professional look.

My problem that I think caused the various fonts was trying to make certain things stand out. There is a lot that we are trying to do on the site and instinct drives you to try an make everything stand out for the user. I think we will have to reevaluate some of those images and find other ways to make them stand out. Also, there were just certain things that didn't look right with the fonts we were using other places.

I definatly agree with what you are saying though. It's still in development as you can tell, but this is the stuff that will make the final product good.

Thanks for the replies, they are great.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum