...

View Full Version : Dreamweaver: Table Issue



J1mmy
10-18-2006, 09:13 PM
I have this table issue with DW, its causing me quite a bit of trouble...

Okay, I create a row, then split that row into two columns. I then create another row below that and I do not split that row, I leave it as one row with any columns. This is where the problem starts... I then create another row, below the 2nd one. In this row, I split it into two columns, like the 1st row.

Now, the 1st and 3rd row are the same in terms of how thye look. They both have two columns. Whenever I alter the column width on the 3rd row, the same thing happens to the first one-thats what I dont like.

Is there anyway to make them seperate?

Alex!
10-19-2006, 10:45 AM
I guess you could use nested tables so you create a new table within each row and then you should be able to alter them independantly. I don't have much experience with tables though so this might not be the best solution.

Alex

Pennimus
10-20-2006, 01:35 AM
Whenever I alter the column width on the 3rd row, the same thing happens to the first one-thats what I dont like.

Is there anyway to make them seperate?

No, that's the whole point; it's the same column.

You would have to nest a new table inside the 3rd row, or simply end the original table after row 2 and start a new table. Alternatively, tables might not be a good idea full stop: It depends what you are trying to do here.

J1mmy
10-20-2006, 10:38 PM
No, that's the whole point; it's the same column.

You would have to nest a new table inside the 3rd row, or simply end the original table after row 2 and start a new table. Alternatively, tables might not be a good idea full stop: It depends what you are trying to do here.

If it stops the problem then thats whats Im going to have to do. Im not sure how to create a new table altogether.

Well, let me use the same layout as I used in my first post. The first row, will contain a picture in each of the columns both equal in size. The next row will just contain text, no columns. Then, the 3rd row will also contain two pictures each column also. However, one of the picture is bigger than the other, so the column has to be adjusted to suit its size, this has an affect on the 1st row's columns...So what ever happens to the 3rd row, the same happens to the 1st.

I dont know whether I should be using tables or not, I just use it becasue I think its a nice way to keep everything organised and controlled. Maybe for this scenario tables might not be the correct method, but I would still like to know for my own knowledge how to over come this...

J1mmy
10-29-2006, 12:54 AM
Im trying to nest the table, its tell me I have to create an 'instance of the tempate', the file is a template, how would i create an instance of a template to be able to nest the tables?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum