View Full Version : One button..two links.

10-14-2006, 05:03 AM
Okay I'm assuming to the best of my knowladge to pull this off I would use something to the extent of a mouseOver with an OnClick in java script, but I have one issue with java..if it's not cut and paste..I suck at it..so here goes.

I have two Iframes. One on top, one below.
The one on top shows an image.
The one below shows information.
When they click on a link to change the information, I also want that link to change the image in the iframe above.


10-14-2006, 05:14 AM
<a href="linktoinfo.html" target="nameofbottomframe" onclick="parent.frames['nameoftopframe'].location='someotherpage.html'">Two Links</a>

10-14-2006, 06:30 AM
Alright, I tested it out, and it's not targeting the first link to content, it's opening a new window all together.

I put up the test at

10-14-2006, 09:47 AM
That coding is for actual frames not IFrames which is what I'm using. I found this [http://www.samisite.com/test-csb2nf/id82.htm]in reference finally, aparently if you want to do this in IFrames you have to use java.

But even using their code I can't get mine to work >.< just says error on page when I click the link

Line: 7
Char: 1
Error: 'parent.FRAME1.location' is null or not an object
Code: 0
URL: http://symplig0thic.com/TestLink.html

And upon further investigation it seems like doing this in IFrames is more of a pain in the arse than it's worth..but I know it can be done and functionally so..however with the magnitude of this site, I'm not sure if the hassle will be worth it.

10-14-2006, 02:38 PM
What I gave you would work, you just have to understand what a name of an frame or iframe really is. It seems that you don't. Your second iframe code has name="main" but so does your first one so your second iframe needs to be

<iframe width="150" height="315" src="content.html" name="main2" id="main2" border="0" frameborder="0" scrolling="auto" allowtransparency="true">

<iframe width="150" height="315" src="content.html" name="main" id="main2" border="0" frameborder="0" scrolling="auto" allowtransparency="true">
Now what I gave you would work IF you used the right iframe names which you didn't.

<a href="linktoinfo.html" target="main" onclick="parent.frames['main2'].location='someotherpage.html'">Two Links</a>