...

View Full Version : full screen



maes
11-14-2002, 02:24 PM
Hi,

I'm makeing some kind of web based database iplication with php and mysql. Is there a way to go full screen. I know F11 can do this a bit, but I was wondering can I go really full screen, no back buttons no adress bar, nothing.
Or maybe only the title bar of windows explorer, with the max, min and close buttons.

Also, I'm useing sessions, and I'm passing the session ID through the browser bar (and some other variables) will this be affected when I do not show the browser bar, or does IE take care of this in the background?

thx

-Maes

murphyz
11-14-2002, 02:29 PM
full screen just for yourself in your browser?

After F11, right click the toolbar that's left and stick it onto auto hide.

Also, you probably know how to get rid of the task bar but, if not, rigt click on an empty space on the bar, goto properties. Then stick it onto Auto hide. It pops up when you move the mouse to the bottom of the screen.

Mxx

maes
11-14-2002, 03:08 PM
thank you for the quick reply.

Isn't there a programatical way to do this. because I can say on the website for the clients to press F11, but I can't ask them to Put their toolbar on auto hide.
I've seen popups with only the explorer window, but no Menu or toolbar, how do they do that?

thx

-Maes

joh6nn
11-14-2002, 04:42 PM
when you open a popup, you're allowed to specify the attributes of the window that you open. things like width, height, location on the screen, and whether or not to include the menu bars, scroll bars, status bar, if it should be resizable. IE began offering an option to go fullscreen (F11) in IE4. recently, Moz ( and i have to assume NS6+ ) picked this up. this thread has a pretty definitive list of all of the attributes that you can specify:
http://codingforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9457

and here's an example of how to open a popup:

window.open('page.html', 'windowName','width=640,height=480,fullscreen,scrollbars');

so that you know, i recommend against doing this. there are a lot of people, who don't know what fullscreen is, and if you spring this on them all of a sudden, they will be completely lost, and won't know how to get out of it. imagine a CEO sitting at his desk, checking out your application on the "in-tar-web", proud of having mastered the elusive "double-click" and suddenly, this web-page goes full screen on him. it'd be like a Dilbert comic gone horribly, terribly wrong.

maes
11-14-2002, 10:11 PM
Good point you have there.
So I should just stick with the popup, maximize it, and remove the adress bar, menu an dbuttons (and leave the min, max and close buttons)

The reason I want this is because I don't want the user browsing my site back and forward with those buttons. I'm affraid that it will mess up my database. that's why I want to limit them to only the links I provide.

thanks for the reply Joh6nn. I'll check it out (but not today, I'm to tired)

whammy
11-15-2002, 02:07 AM
If you're concerned about people messing up your database by browsing back and forth through your application, then you have not coded the application correctly, and you are on the wrong track by even starting this thread!

If I were you I would totally scrap what you are working on now (at least regarding this thread), and rethink what it is you're trying to do, because it's completely unsafe.

What I would do is have all of your forms on one page using subroutines, and then decide what to display based on what was requested from the previous form (I usually post a form back to itself to keep things very clear).

I'm not exactly sure how to do that in PHP, but I do this kind of thing all the time in ASP. I always check to make sure that all requirements are met before you ever touch the database.

You should also NEVER use client-side scripting for this kind of validation if you have the ability to do it server-side (which is a prerequisite for using a database anyway).

NEVER rely on javascript for sensitive issues such as server-side database updates, and using the kind of "hacks" you are trying to do in this thread is going about it the wrong way entirely.

I'm not trying to disrespect you in any way, shape, or form, I'm just really trying to prevent you a lot of grief. Because what you're trying to do is the wrong way to approach this problem and will cause you a lot of grief eventually.

P.S. In the future you should post this type of question in the PHP forum. I'm sure nightfire and others can show you the "right path".

:)

maes
11-15-2002, 01:13 PM
Basicly, I'm trying to do something like this forum, but when you edit a thread, press the submit button, you can go back to it and change it again (I think), this should not be allowed, and therefor I wanted to remove those buttons. Also, it looks nicer as an application without the menu and favourite, refresh buttons and all thats stuff. it is useless in my application.

>>What I would do is have all of your forms on one page using subroutines, and then decide what to display based on what was requested from the previous form (I usually post a form back to itself to keep things very clear).

Won't that give me a very large php-file?


>>I'm not trying to disrespect you in any way, shape, or form
I'm not feeling disrespected, why would I? I'm a newbie at this and you're trying to help me :)

>>P.S. In the future you should post this type of question in the PHP forum. I'm sure nightfire and others can show you the "right path".
Sorry about that. I thought that this wasn't a php question. I didn't know which language would solve my problem, so I posted it here. Feel free to move


-maes

whammy
11-16-2002, 12:39 AM
:)

I somehow was under the impression your application was in PHP.

Anyway, whether or not you put it all in one page is up to you - I just personally find it easier to have the application flow and validation in one spot as long as it isn't unmanagebly huge - the subroutines or whatnot can always be include files.

I'm just saying, you should always validate whatever it is you want to validate server-side, before allowing anyone to arbitrarily update a database. :D

Looks like I got a little frantic when I posted last time - which maybe I did... hehe.

If anyone I was working with took a javascript approach to anything regarding databases, I would freak out. ;)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum