View Full Version : URL in Flash

10-04-2006, 12:09 PM
I would like a clarification. I haven't done Flash in a long time so I am not sure if things have changed.

I believe to have a SWF file go to a specific URL, it has to be coded inside the FLA file, correct? Via the URL parameter I think.

So you cannot possibly wrap the EMBED code inside an HREF tag to link to a URL, correct?

I need this clarified for a client who sends SWF ad banners without a link in it.


10-04-2006, 07:19 PM
Yes inside the fla file the getURL() function needs to be called somewhere in the actionscript. Then you need to export the movie to create the .swf file which then be able to be viewed by users. You can wrap the code in an anchor however the probability of having this work in good browsers is slim.

10-04-2006, 11:19 PM
Thaks, that's what I though and yes I tried the anchor around the EMBED and it doesn't work.

10-05-2006, 05:35 PM
Besides using getURL(), you can insert link as parameter in HTML param tag.

e.g. Please notice <param name="FlashVars" value="fb_mp=3"> in

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0" width="940" height="750">
<param name="movie" value="assets/FB_v5/FB_V5_d01d.swf?flv">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<param name="menu" value="false" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<param name="FlashVars" value="fb_mp=3">
<embed src="assets/FB_v5/FB_V5_d01d.swf?flv" FlashVars="fb_mp=3" quality="high" wmode="transparent" menu="false" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="940" height="750"></embed>

10-05-2006, 06:35 PM
It would still need to be setup to handle the flashvars in which case you would still call getURL().