...

View Full Version : xhtml validation



haveacigar
09-29-2006, 04:54 PM
Hey im having a little problem with validation. I want my page to work in all browsers so i thought i should keep to w3 standards, but i have got a bit stuck. I think i am using the wrong doctype, but i could be wrong... the html is

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>alanmonger.co.uk | Home</title>
<link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head>
<body>
<div align="center" style="padding-top:1%" />
<?php

include "header.php"

?>
<div id="main">

<div id="content">
<!-- Start of StatCounter Code -->
<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
<!--
var sc_project=654070;
var sc_invisible=0;
var sc_partition=5;
var sc_security="c6ca2f08";
//-->
</script>

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" src="http://www.statcounter.com/counter/counter.js"></script><noscript><a href="http://www.statcounter.com/" target="_blank"><img src="http://c6.statcounter.com/counter.php?sc_project=654070&java=0&security=c6ca2f08&invisible=0" alt="hit counter" border="0"></a> </noscript>
<!-- End of StatCounter Code -->
</div>
<?php
include "footer.php";
?>
</div>
</div>
</body>
</html>


cheers for any help :thumbsup:

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-29-2006, 04:57 PM
We need to see the code when it gets to the browser meaning with the php includes already parsed. A link to the site would be best.

haveacigar
09-29-2006, 05:10 PM
We need to see the code when it gets to the browser meaning with the php includes already parsed. A link to the site would be best.

oops sorry its www.alanmonger.co.uk

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-29-2006, 05:14 PM
Okay from the looks of things you seem to have no idea what XHTML is. I suggest using an HTML transitional doctype or HTML Strict one. Some of the things you have in your code need to be done in CSS for example this

<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
can be trimmed down to

<body>
then in CSS

body {
background:#FFF;
margin:0;
padding:0;
}
however I noticed you have two body tags you should only have one.
Get rid of the second one here

<body>
<div align="center" style="padding-top:1%" />
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
This is how I would have done it. There was no need for tables in your layout.

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>alanmonger.co.uk | Home</title>
<style type="text/css">
html, body {
margin:0;
padding:0;
border:0;
height:100%;
background:#FFF url(nav/back_widecenter.gif) top left repeat-y;
color:#000;
}
a img {
border:0;
}
#container {
width:800px;
margin:auto;
}
#header {
height:147px;
background:url(images/layout_01.gif) no-repeat bottom;
text-indent:-9999px;
}
#nav {
margin:0;
padding:0 0 0 127px;
list-style:none;
background:url(images/layout_02.gif) no-repeat;
height:31px;
}
#nav li {
float:left;
line-height:0px;
font-size:0;
}
#main {
background:#9DB9C5 url(images/layout_09.gif) no-repeat;
text-align:center;
padding-top:30px;
color:#000;
}
#content {
padding:8px;
background:#FFF;
width:686px;
min-height:686px;
color:#000;
margin:auto;
text-align:justify;
}
* html #content {
height:686px;
}
#stats {
text-align:center;
}
#valid {
padding:20px 0;
}
</style>
</head>
<body>
<div id="container">
<div id="header">alanmonger.co.uk - Home</div>
<ul id="nav">
<li><a href="index.php"><img src="images/layout_03.gif" width="64" height="31" alt="" /></a></li>
<li><a href="images.php"><img src="images/layout_04.gif" width="90" height="31" alt="" /></a></li>
<li><a href="videos.php"><img src="images/layout_05.gif" width="73" height="31" alt="" /></a></li>
<li><a href="games.php"><img src="images/layout_06.gif" width="85" height="31" alt="" /></a></li>
<li><a href="contact.php"><img src="images/layout_07.gif" width="96" height="31" alt="" /></a></li>
<li><img src="images/layout_08.gif" width="265" height="31" alt="" /></li>
</ul>
<div id="main">
<div id="content">
<div id="stats">
<!-- Start of StatCounter Code -->
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var sc_project=654070;
var sc_invisible=0;
var sc_partition=5;
var sc_security="c6ca2f08";
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.statcounter.com/counter/counter.js"></script>
<noscript><a href="http://www.statcounter.com/" target="_blank"><img src="http://c6.statcounter.com/counter.php?sc_project=654070&amp;java=0&amp;security=c6ca2f08&amp;invisible=0" alt="hit counter" /></a></noscript>
<!-- End of StatCounter Code -->
</div>
</div>
<div id="valid"><a href="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/"><img width="88" height="31" src="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/images/vcss" alt="Valid CSS!" /></a></div>
</div>
</div>
</body>
</html>

haveacigar
09-29-2006, 07:26 PM
wow... thanks a lot, that really helps...

im still a bit new to web design, and i am just learning from different pages... i had no idea you could achieve the same effects with lists...

thanks alot for your help, i really appreciate it.

Ciggy

haveacigar
10-01-2006, 08:43 PM
hey, i sorted out the html and css problem but now have a javascript related problem. Id like to but it in a javascript thread, but i thought as i have already made one based on validation, id post it here.

Anyway the problem is, i have not begun to learn javascript, so i have no idea how to solve the problem. So i have a javascript code, that is provided by statcounter, to record the number of times that people go into the page. The problem is, that it isnt validated by w3c standards. I was wondering if it is possible to change the code to make it meet the requirement to become valid... anyway here is the code for the main page (visible)



<!-- Start of StatCounter Code -->
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var sc_project=654070;
var sc_invisible=0;
var sc_partition=5;
var sc_security="c6ca2f08";
var sc_https=1;
var sc_remove_link=1;
//-->
</script>

<script type="text/javascript" src="https://secure.statcounter.com/counter/counter_xhtml.js"></script><noscript><div class="statcounter"><img class="statcounter" src="https://c6.statcounter.com/counter.php?sc_project=654070&java=0&security=c6ca2f08&invisible=0" alt="web stats" /></div></noscript>
<!-- End of StatCounter Code -->


and here is the code for the other pages (invisible)



<!-- Start of StatCounter Code -->
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var sc_project=654070;
var sc_invisible=1;
var sc_partition=5;
var sc_security="c6ca2f08";
var sc_https=1;
var sc_remove_link=1;
//-->
</script>

<script type="text/javascript" src="https://secure.statcounter.com/counter/counter_xhtml.js"></script><noscript><div class="statcounter"><img class="statcounter" src="https://c6.statcounter.com/counter.php?sc_project=654070&java=0&security=c6ca2f08&invisible=0" alt="web stats" /></div></noscript>
<!-- End of StatCounter Code -->


cheers

ciggy

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-01-2006, 08:49 PM
Look closely at the javascript in the code I gave you and look at the code you have. Notice anything different? &amp; maybe?

haveacigar
10-01-2006, 08:59 PM
oh yes... sorry i missed that, as i am trying to learn form my mistakes, i have taken what you have given me and started again from scratch.... i missed the javascript :p ... thanks alot... but could you tell me what &amp does?

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-01-2006, 09:08 PM
Its an html entity. Its equivalent to & which is an ampersand. &amp; is what you use in HTML to replace it. It will still work the same way, its just the valid way to do it.

haveacigar
10-01-2006, 09:15 PM
Its an html entity. Its equivalent to & which is an ampersand. &amp; is what you use in HTML to replace it. It will still work the same way, its just the valid way to do it.

cool :cool: my website is now completely valid... ill keep the &amp; in mind for the next time i do some editing :)

thanks

ciggy

haveacigar
10-02-2006, 02:20 AM
last problem i promise :)

this is my video code



<object width="686px" height="686px">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/3IUyHBbCaavWw1CTr"></param>
<embed src="http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/3IUyHBbCaavWw1CTr" width=686px height=686px/></object>



yet W3C comes up with lots of errors that i dont know how to fix :mad:

like there is no attribute "src", there is no attribute "width", and something about shorttag.... which i dont know what it is and cant seem to find information on it.

Any help would be much appreciated

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-02-2006, 02:42 AM
<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/3IUyHBbCaavWw1CTr" width="686" height="686">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/3IUyHBbCaavWw1CTr" />
</object>
You should really learn what XHTML is. You don't seem to know what it is at this point.

haveacigar
10-02-2006, 03:19 AM
<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/3IUyHBbCaavWw1CTr" width="686" height="686">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/3IUyHBbCaavWw1CTr" />
</object>
You should really learn what XHTML is. You don't seem to know what it is at this point.


thanks for that, and your right.. i dont know xhtml, but i suppose i should start learning... i have been trying to learn different languages at the same time (php and c++) but if it is important to learn xhtml then i shall start to go into it

haveacigar
10-03-2006, 02:10 AM
hey aerospace, could you explain to me how the navigation part of the html works? I have got the most part of it, but the end result always seems to end up jagged.

Cheers

Ciggy

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-03-2006, 05:52 AM
What exactly are you wanting to know? You need to be more specific. The float:left; on the li's allows them to be on one line without any space in between them. Zeroing out the margin on the ul resolves any extra spacing issues. I thought it was pretty straight forward.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum