...

View Full Version : URL redirection or... umm..



Spudhead
09-27-2006, 04:41 PM
I never get involved with this side :(

The client has their own domain, and hosting. Lets call it www.client.net

They want a microsite: www.client.net/microsite

They want that microsite to be hosted by us. They want www.client.net/microsite to appear in the address bar, and none of us want frames.

We're on IIS servers. I dunno what they're on right now, but I reckon it'll be Apache/Linux.

I'm suffering a mental block here. This is easy, isn't it?

Spudhead
09-28-2006, 11:10 AM
Oh dear. 24 views, no replies.

Is this hard, then? Can't they just set a virtual dir up on their server that goes to our IP address? Or... anything?

:eek:

magicpaul
09-28-2006, 12:06 PM
What's the actual question here?

So you upload your site to www.client.com/microsite ... problem solved?

Spudhead
09-28-2006, 04:01 PM
They want that microsite to be hosted by us.

Or, more accurately, WE don't want to build a microsite away from all the custom-built ASP tracking and reporting functionality that's running on our server. If we have to get them to host it, then so be it. But I was fairly sure it was easy to redirect. Maybe I had my wires crossed.

Da'Neth
09-28-2006, 04:45 PM
ok I think you need a sub domain so it wuld look like this
microsite.client.com/ if thay make the sub domain thay can then go and redirect it to an IP that you set up I am not 100% sure on the proses involved with this but I do know that it can be done.

magicpaul
09-28-2006, 06:46 PM
Maybe you could do it with a .htaccess file?

rafiki
09-29-2006, 11:33 AM
<iframe> ? then in the iframe target it to http://yoursite.com/thiermicrosite
also use javascript to keep the page in the iframe, i seen a good javascript on www.runescape.com for this ...

try { if (self==top) { top.location.href="http://www.theresite.com/thiermicrositewithiframe.htm"; } } catch(er) { }

Spudhead
10-05-2006, 12:23 PM
Hmmmm.

Looks like this isn't going to be pretty, then.

If I use any sort of URL redirection: htaccess or the suchlike, it'll replace the address in the browser. The client does not want this.

The microsite MUST appear at www.client.com/microsite: www.clientmicrosite.com or microsite.client.com or even client.microsite.com - these are not options.

I'm going to have to stick this thing in a frame, aren't I? EEwwwwwww. :(

raf
10-05-2006, 01:04 PM
you can put a server side scripting page (PHP, ASP, JSP, ...) on their server, that will grab the content from your server and outputs it.

setting this up can be realy simple or extremely complex, depending on what actually goes on in the scripts on your site, and if you're doing a lott of formprocessing, using cookies etc.

iota
10-05-2006, 05:57 PM
you can put a server side scripting page (PHP, ASP, JSP, ...) on their server, that will grab the content from your server and outputs it.

setting this up can be realy simple or extremely complex, depending on what actually goes on in the scripts on your site, and if you're doing a lott of formprocessing, using cookies etc.

Yes, Spudhead, if your client's is php-apache, then you can apply php curl() method in your client webpage www.client.net/microsite/index.php to read all contents from your IP or site.

For example,




<?php

$curl_handle=curl_init();
curl_setopt($curl_handle,CURLOPT_URL,'http://www.codingforums.com');
curl_setopt($curl_handle,CURLOPT_CONNECTTIMEOUT,2);
curl_setopt($curl_handle,CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER,1);
$buffer = curl_exec($curl_handle);
curl_close($curl_handle);

if (!empty($buffer))
{
print $buffer;
}
?>



Otherwise, I think you'd better use framing like other URL redirecting services (like http://uni.cc and my e.g. is http://fbtb.uni.cc/ -- check the source code of frameset) do. Also read apache's manual for multiple cross servers.

oracleguy
10-05-2006, 07:30 PM
A subdomain is gonna be your best bet I think, I believe you can make it resolve to your IP address. If they are running IIS, they could make a virtual directory but it would still be hosted on the same server, the files could just be a different location.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum