...

View Full Version : Image Map Problems [has rollovers]



jupiterflame
11-13-2002, 02:01 AM
Heres....my problem. I have an image map with rollovers... I want to add a mouseover to change the status bar discription. I added that to the code below, but when I did, the only thing that worked was the "mouse-out" funtion, and when I moused over it was just the normal link location....... how can I get this to work, so that when I mouse over, the link as a discription???

My page is at http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/


Heres the code:
< AREA SHAPE="rect" COORDS="89,2,126,35" HREF="http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/news.html"
title="News"
onMouseOver="if(document.images) document.new01_030.src='http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/images/01.gif'; window.status='some text';return true;"
onMouseOut="if(document.images) document.new01_030.src='http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/images/new01_03.gif'; window.status='some more text'; return true;" >

Thanks.
Danielle. :confused:

MCookie
11-13-2002, 11:09 PM
Heh, looks like everyone has forgotten how to do that. Me too. Had to look it up, lol..

<MAP NAME="new01_03">
<AREA SHAPE="rect" COORDS="89,2,126,35" HREF="http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/news.html" title="News" onMouseOver="if(document.images) document.new01_030.src='http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/images/01.gif';window.status=('Lees het nieuws..');return true;"
onMouseOut="if(document.images) document.new01_030.src='http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/images/new01_03.gif';window.status=('');return true;">

jupiterflame
11-14-2002, 12:30 AM
Okay I pasted your code in my site, and it still showed just the regular link location at the bottom, and it was supposed to say "Lees het nieuws" and it... didn't. :( Could it be IE 6.0? I dunno.. what it is...
It should work but it doesn't. I have tried everything and its pissing me off. :mad:

You are Dutch? :P My site is for Bloem De Ligny - Dutch Singer :):):)

If you have any other suggests... or.. maybe what I am doing ... PLEASE let me know.... Thanks... for everything.

Danielle
http://bloem.jupiterflame.com

MCookie
11-14-2002, 09:42 PM
Hi,
yes, I'm Dutch, but I've never heard of Bloem De Ligny.. That can't be the reason it's not working, can it? Lol.. (I've tried to check out your site but the pop-up in your menu doesn't work for me. If I want to click on a link, the pop-up suddenly disappears..)
The problem is, I'm using another OS, don't have Windows and stopped using status bar text two years ago. So I was hoping someone with Win/IE6 would reply..
I did remember though, there was/is an IE5 bug concerning statusbar text, maybe it affects IE6 too. There's a workaround for that, you could give it a try.

Just paste the script into the head of your page and adjust the code in the area tag.


<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
function showStatus(text) {
window.setTimeout('window.status="' + text + '"', 1);
}
//-->
</script>


<map name="new01_03">
<area shape="rect" coords="89,2,126,35" href="http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/news.html" title="News" onMouseOver="if(document.images) document.new01_030.src='http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/images/01.gif';showStatus('Lees het nieuws..');return true;"
onMouseOut="if(document.images) document.new01_030.src='http://bloem.jupiterflame.com/new/images/new01_03.gif';showStatus('');return true;">

jupiterflame
11-14-2002, 11:04 PM
Okay I will try this....

I know... the popups... they suck.... they haven't worked for alot... seems like everyone with 6.0 don't have a problem though sooooo... This new site I am working on is more user-friendly... so I will try this now...

Thanks.
Danielle.

jupiterflame
11-14-2002, 11:10 PM
THIS WORKS I AM SO HAPPY!!! I have been lookin for a cure for this for 3 days... you are the bomb.... thank you so much.!!!
You are a savior. :o

Danielle:thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum