...

View Full Version : MS Access to MySQL



CurtWRC
09-20-2006, 02:37 AM
I am currently building a website and have been storing my data in an MS Access database. However in the forum I have built the page is struggling to open more than 5 records (posts), and can take around 10 - 20 seconds to open a thread with 15 posts. Ive heard that MySQL is much faster than MS Access and should resolve my problem, is this true? If so how can I go about setting up a secure MySQL database. I'm totally new to MySQL so if its too long to explain do you know any useful tutorials I can use?

Thanks,
Curt.

Fumigator
09-20-2006, 03:55 AM
Do you have your own web server?

CurtWRC
09-20-2006, 11:50 AM
Do you have your own web server?

My website is hosted at brinkster.com.

Fumigator
09-20-2006, 04:03 PM
I took a quick look at what brinkster.com offers in their personal package and it seems they (unbelievably) do not offer MySQL. To use MySQL you need to use a decent host company: hostmonster.com is my current favorite.

If you bought their professional package then you can use their website to set up a MySQL database. At least I'm assuming you could; any decent hosting company provides that functionality. The fact brinkster doesn't include MySQL with the personal package leaves me wondering what else they are lacking.

CurtWRC
09-20-2006, 04:28 PM
I have the professional package with Brinkster because they offer hardly anything with the personal package (in terms of building server side coding). I don't think it is Brinkster.com which is slowing my site down anyway because I have tried alternative servers.

My question really is whether from anyones experience or knowledge, is MySQL faster than MS Access? If so how can I go about using MySQL instead?

Thanks.

guelphdad
09-20-2006, 05:01 PM
well you can't use mysql unless brinkster.com offers it.
mysql is a full fledged database system, can handle millions of rows without effort, most up to date versions (mysql5) offer transactions, views, stored procedures, foreign key support (on innodb tables) etc.

so until you switch hosts you can't use mysql for a live site.

you can visit dev.mysql.com and download the client/server for testing on your own computer.

CurtWRC
09-21-2006, 01:37 AM
Brinkster does allow MySQL:

http://www.brinkster.com/Hosting/Professional.aspx
"100 MB MYSQL DATABASE INCLUDED"

So is MySQL faster than MS Access?
Curt.

Fumigator
09-21-2006, 06:21 AM
Good, I'm relieved you have the professional package. And yes, MySQL is faster than MS Access, but you will need to index your tables properly. To set up a MySQL database, go to Brinkster's website, login, and follow the instructions there. If you get stuck, you'll need to ask Brinkster's tech support, because each hosting company can do things a little different so we can't really step you through their process.

Don't hesitate to come here to ask about how to design your database, query questions, etc.

CurtWRC
09-21-2006, 08:27 PM
I asked Brinkster to create me a MySQL database and they said one already exists (This is because I had one built by another web designer about a year ago. However I don't plan to use the data or tables). So how can I now view my database through an interface (like MS Access)? My host doesn't offer a very good way of managing MySQL databases.

Thanks,
Curt.

Fumigator
09-22-2006, 01:03 AM
That would be between you and your host. A decent host would offer you cpanel or something similar, and phpMyAdmin, or something similar.

CurtWRC
09-24-2006, 01:42 PM
That would be between you and your host. A decent host would offer you cpanel or something similar, and phpMyAdmin, or something similar.

My host doesn't offer anything like this at all. Therefore Im moving to EasyCGI. They offer phpmyadmin. However in my current database I probably have around 8000 records in total. Is there any way of transferring these from Access to MySQL?

Thanks.

guelphdad
09-24-2006, 07:39 PM
before choosing a new host make sure they support mysql 4.1 at a minimum. you will not be able to use subqueries and other features if they only support 4.0

as to your msaccess file, if you can dump your results to a CSV (comma separated values) file then you can import them to mysql.

I believe there are also some tools that you can directly import msaccess to mysql, I've never used them so check a search engine to see what you can come up with.

CurtWRC
09-24-2006, 07:57 PM
Thanks guelphdad :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum