...

View Full Version : Need Help: Multiple Frame Layouts Queuing Title Bar Text Correctly When Navigating



Crevice9
11-10-2002, 04:41 AM
I am designing a site for with Dreamweaver MX using two vertical frames. The one on the left never moves in site navigation, it's just a menu to trigger new pages to the right frame. (where I want my title to come from)...
My problem is that I can't figure out why I am unable to get a simple text description in the Title Bar at the top of the browser for each page, it just says "untitled document".
PLEASE tell me what is wrong with this script causing this... I am clueless... Thank you so much for your time...

Crevice9 :thumbsup:

I was told this by someone whom we all know, he said "You need to change the page title when selecting the frameset, not the individual frame. To select the frameset, choose the frame border."
I don't know how to go about this procedure when both frames aren't being queued together, as a set... :confused:



left frame (menu):


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>Menu</TITLE>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<META content="MSHTML 6.00.2719.2200" name=GENERATOR></HEAD>
<BODY text=#f4f4f4 bgColor=#333333>
<DIV align=center>
<P> </P>
<P>
<OBJECT
codeBase=http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0
height=105 width=126 align=middle
classid=clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000><PARAM NAME="movie" VALUE="../ACC%20Logo.swf"><PARAM NAME="quality" VALUE="high">
<embed src="../ACC%20Logo.swf" width="126" height="105"
align="middle" quality="high"
pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"
type="application/x-shockwave-flash"></embed></OBJECT></P>
<P><BR>
<OBJECT
codeBase=http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0
height=240 width=100 align=middle
classid=clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000><PARAM NAME="movie" VALUE="../Menu.swf"><PARAM NAME="quality" VALUE="high">
<embed src="../Menu.swf" width="100" height="240"
align="middle" quality="high"
pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"
type="application/x-shockwave-flash"></embed></OBJECT></P>
<P> </P><FONT size=-1>ACC<BR>35 Old Jonesboro
Road<BR>Fairburn<BR>555-2138</FONT></DIV></BODY></HTML>



right frame (home):


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>Home</TITLE>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<META content="MSHTML 6.00.2719.2200" name=GENERATOR></HEAD>
<BODY text=#f4f4f4 bgColor=#888888>
<DIV align=center>
<P><IMG height=170 src="2_files/ACC Header.gif" width=683 align=middle></P>
<P> </P>
<head>

<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
window.status="Loading... ACC";

function clear_status_message()
{
window.status = '';
return true;
}
//-->
</script>

</head>

<script>
var width = screen.width
var height = screen.height

document.write( "<BODY onLoad='clear_status_message()' onUnload='window.resizeTo(" + width + "," + height + ")'>")
</script>
<P>Sunday Services: 8:30 and 11:00 a.m.<BR>
Wednesday Service: 6:30 Prayer, 7:00 Worship</P>
<P><IMG src="2_files/Rick%20&%20Susie.gif" width=297 height=213
align=middle><BR>
Senior Pastors Rick and Susie</P>
</DIV>
</BODY></HTML>

joh6nn
11-10-2002, 06:26 AM
...

i don't see you actually manipulating the title anywhere. call me crazy, but that could be why you're having a problem.

Crevice9
11-10-2002, 06:36 AM
if you look at the <TITLE>Menu</TITLE> and <TITLE>Home</TITLE> this is the way I was changing it... it worked in single page documents...
Anyway I fixed it using the suggestion that was in my question... just have to stick to one title bar text throughout the site instead of changing the text with each page... later...

Crevice9 :D

MCookie
11-10-2002, 08:55 AM
You're doing nothing wrong. Without loading a different frameset for every page the only title you will ever see is the one in the frameset page. Although it is possible to show the titles of the individual pages on top of the frameset page with JavaScript.

Crevice9
11-10-2002, 11:32 PM
Well I have it to were I see (like you said MCookie) the title of the frame set in the top and the pages do show up individually in the back button history if I look there... so that's what I really want... Thanks for your replys...

Crevice9 :thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum