View Full Version : need help with my search box please ...

08-30-2006, 05:30 PM
Hi all, i would like some help with something if you would be so kind.

I have this search box in my header ..


With this code.

<div style="padding:5px;">
<form method="get" action="http://www.xxxxxxx.com/yyyyyy/">
<table style="width:50%;" cellpadding="5">
<td style="vertical-align:top;font-size:9pt;">
input type="text" value="search ..." id="search" onkeyup="searchSel()">
<SELECT id="groups">
<option value="">Select:</option>
<option value="user">Users</option>
<option value="event">Events</option>
<option value="gallery">Gallery</option>
<input type="submit" value="Go" class="mainmenu66" onmouseover="this.className='mainmenu77';" onmouseout="this.className='mainmenu66';"

And am trying to do 2 things.

1. Remove the 'go' button, and have it execute the search when the user selects an option from the drop down box.

2. The 'action' of the form to goto a different place depending on the users selection within the drop down box -

So; if they select 'Users'.. it goes to xxxxxx.com/searchusers, if they select events it goes to xxxxx.com/searchevents etc.

Can anyone give me some ideas/code as to how i can implement this, i can edit and code VERY basic PHP but this is way beyond my level. Or, if anyone has some example code or something to help me along that would be awesome too? Have't had much luck with google when i searched for stuff ...

Thanks to any and all who input into the thread :)


EDIT: This is within the phpFox content management system if tat has any bearing on things. It is in one of the tpl files, but php works within it too. Just not sure how to implement A: In the PHP, and also how to integrate that code into my tpl file. Is all very confusing hehe :-\ ;)

08-30-2006, 05:58 PM
You actually neeed a javscript for this. if possible, move ur post to the javascript forum. Bet you will get some help there.......

08-30-2006, 06:12 PM
You would be looking for a Javascript to do your select box enter key ...

If someone has Javascripting turned-off, or uses their keyboard for
navigation (instead of the mouse), there would be some problems.

Look at a Google search like this:

Item 2 ----
That's going to be harder to do. I think you'll have to jump to a PHP
script that views the select box value and redirects based on that value.

08-30-2006, 07:16 PM
For Item 2 you can change the "action" parameter of your form via Javascript, so it's possible to do without PHP.