...

View Full Version : Windows is really annoying me



Digger3000
08-30-2006, 08:32 AM
Ok, I leave my computer running all the time, because I have programs running that I want to have running all the time. My question is, how do I tell me computer that I NEVER want it to restart without me telling it to? So far it's restarted because of automaitc updates and because of something called a Stop error? How do I make it stop doing that?

P.S. I'm writing this at 1:30 in the morning because my computer just restarted itself and I had to get up and reset everything to how I want it.

_Aerospace_Eng_
08-30-2006, 01:32 PM
Well first things first. You need to change your automatic update settings. Currently they are downloading and installing automatically. You should make it to where there are new updates that you download yourself and then install this way you will be at your computer to avoid restarts. Second is going to the power options under your Control Panel. Click on the Power Schemes tab and go to the part that says when plugged in. Your system may vary but I have them all set to never except the turn hard disks off. I have that set to 30min. If you have a laptop you need to click on the advanced tab and adjust settings there as well.

Digger3000
09-03-2006, 04:13 PM
I did all that, and it still restarted without asking me. It keeps doing something called a "Windows stop error." And it seems like it started happening after I put in more memory. Why would that happen?

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-03-2006, 05:51 PM
It does seem that stop errors usually come about from hardware being installed incorrectly or actually being faulty. More info here http://www.aumha.org/win5/kbestop.php

JamieR
09-03-2006, 07:06 PM
Take the new memory out and then leave the pc on for a few days and monitor it. If it runs stable with just the old memory in it, then you've found the cause.

Digger3000
09-03-2006, 07:32 PM
I have done that before. It never happened while the memory was out. But I put it back in because, well, I wanted more memory. Why would more memory cause a "stop error?"

JamieR
09-03-2006, 08:10 PM
There are several reasons why RAM would cause a BSOD (stop error) in windows. RAM that can not be read or written to properly etc etc would cause a stop error. The best thing to find the exact error is to go through the event log and find the exact error with the parameters etc. Then you can analyse the error and find out why it is happening.

Download and use Memtest (http://www.memtest86.com/) to check your memory. It comes in the form of a bootable iso image.

Digger3000
09-03-2006, 08:43 PM
What event log would that be, and what's a bootable iso image?

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-03-2006, 10:49 PM
What event log would that be, and what's a bootable iso image?
Something tells me if you have no idea what the above are then you really shouldn't be messing with any hardware in your system. There is a log that gets created when a stop error occurs. Its explained in that link I gave you if you even read it. You did read it right? A bootable iso is a .iso file that you can burn to a blank cd or dvd and then restart your system and boot into the cd. Its usually a type of linux disc that has memtest on it.

Digger3000
09-04-2006, 03:55 AM
Hey, I know what I'm doing with computer hardware. I just didn't go to that link because I assumed it was where I'd download that thing. Don't say "the error log" like I know what that is. Just because I've never heard of any error log doesn't mean I don't know anything about computer hardware.

Digger3000
09-04-2006, 04:01 AM
Also, there's nothing about an error log on that page. All I see is "Change Log."

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-04-2006, 04:12 AM
Did you even read these?

General Troubleshooting of STOP Messages

If you can’t find a specific reference to your problem, running through the following checklist stands a good chance of resolving the problem for you. This checklist is also usually the best approach to troubleshooting some specific Stop messages, such as 0x0A and 0x50.

1. Examine the “System” and “Application” logs in Event Viewer for other recent errors that might give further clues. To do this, launch EventVwr.msc from a Run box; or open “Administrative Tools” in the Control Panel then launch Event Viewer.
2. If you’ve recently added new hardware, remove it and retest.
3. Run hardware diagnostics supplied by the manufacturer.
4. Make sure device drivers and system BIOS are up-to-date.
5. However, if you’ve installed new drivers just before the problem appeared, try rolling them back to the older ones.
6. Open the box and make sure all hardware is correctly installed, well seated, and solidly connected.
7. Confirm that all of your hardware is on the Hardware Compatibility List. If some of it isn’t, then pay particular attention to the non-HCL hardware in your troubleshooting.
8. Check for viruses.
9. Investigate recently added software.
10. Examine (and try disabling) BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.

Mainly #1.

Digger3000
09-04-2006, 04:21 AM
I don't see that on http://www.memtest86.com/

Digger3000
09-04-2006, 04:25 AM
Ok, there is a system error in the event viewer, but what does it tell me?

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-04-2006, 04:36 AM
I don't see that on http://www.memtest86.com/
Weazel and I are not the same person. I posted a totally different link that has a lot of info on stop errors. Guess I'll post it again.

http://www.aumha.org/win5/kbestop.php

Digger3000
09-04-2006, 04:53 AM
Oh, well you said "the above link." And that memtest one was the first one I saw when I looked above.

EUSkiller
09-04-2006, 04:54 AM
Many stop errors are cause from virus' in your kernel if you have had a virus and cleaned it with symantec or mc afee you still may have it logged in the registry. Run regedit, goto hkeyloaclmachine, software, microsoft, windows, current version, run, run once, and run once ex. Look in the run folders for anything that does not seem like an application that you have, be careful the naming conventions are strange. If you are not sure of the exe file google it before delete.

KingKhan
09-07-2006, 04:52 AM
Hi,

I am new here,never posted any forums,but i don't no why,today i thaught to join to try to solve digger problem.

I agree on some points what AeroSpace_Eng and Killer said.

but Its solutions for some days.

and the main thing is "Computer must ask to him before restart",Its not the problem of Memory.

But to run it smoothly disable updates are required and trun off hard disk also.

but its not the solution.and Till now we don't have solution on this ,dis I think.

and I believe we will never get,

if we want to stop restart then we have to make very big program to stop restarting,Program will trap all kind of errors if occurs either by any hardware or software problem.wither its windows system files problem or any othr software problm,if happens program wil cancel action.

but it will let hang ur system also.if we stopped restart. if your system is infected with virus,then also u cann't control.it may cause happen due to any error.

it will be ok,

if you are not installing any new soft,or adding new hardware,or no virus effect.If any thing happens,u system will need a restart,or may be he will do automatically.

Killer point is also important,and right,but it also depends which type of virus effected ur system.It may be file virus,BOOT S Virus ,trojans,worm.apyware,ad ware. If any of these exist in system,then it will restart.

Killer point will help u to find out 23835 Viruses,Trojans,spyware,adware.(atleast I Can control).

=======================================================
(SPECIALLY FOR KILLER )
:thumbsup:
BUT DEAR IF ITS NOT THERE THEN ALSO TROJANS CAN START HIM SELF.WELL THEY USED VERY NICE TECHNIQUE,here it is :::

That trojan starts him self in sexy way,which i can gurantee,very hard for normal users to guess,even he is an expert user.

That trojan starts,when we Open Internet Explorer,windows create Internet Explorer Toolbar. The Tojan setting was in Toolbar area ,so when windows create toolbar,after that it will create the buttons,am I right.?

he will chk registry how many extra buttons to add.this chking and loading starts trojan,as his entry is also there.

your solition is also good,before moving any othr part,we must first chk KILLER sujested area.

Killer ,am i right.if any problm let me know.
=====================================================
so,frm my view Mr.Digger,its very hard,not impossible,but too hard.

then u don't forget,You are using WINDOWS...:( ...

for mr.digger I think,he you are joking,

some time u say,u know hardware,u know what u r doing,

then u ask what is "event viewer" ,i'm really shockd.

and some time,u don't know system log , error log and about hardware .

FIRST YOU MAKE IT CLEAR,WHAT YOU KNOW AND WHAT NOT.

After reading ur posts on ur topic,I think u r just wasting time of othr members.

Its bad,very small life,but we hav to do lots ,lots ,lots of work.

ANY WAY GUYz,IF YOU FIND ME OK,WHAT I SAID ABOUT PROBLEM AND SOLUTION ITS OK ,or if you WANT TO ADD SOME MORE THINGS,OR IF YOU FIND ANY MISTAKE on what i described,pls don't forget to tell me.

HOPE MR.DIGGER GOT YOUR ANSWER,AM I RIGHT MR.DIGGER.?i don't want to hurt you from any way,but i just said the truth.

ignore spealing mistke,as i really don't hav time to chk.this is my first post in Forum site.belive me,why i replied ,i also don't know.

Enough,me Boring na,big LOVE LETTER for All .

waiting for ur comments.
havc a nice day!

Kingkhan

KingKhan
09-07-2006, 04:58 AM
If anything is not clear,then let me know,i will try my best to explain all.

Kingkhan



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum