...

View Full Version : FrontPage Image Problems!



J1mmy
08-27-2006, 05:44 PM
Ive been working on my website in the past few days. While I was working on it, i noticed that, everytime i opened up the HTML file directly into a browser it showed an extremely poor quality of images on the page.

In FrontPage though, the images seem to be fine and perfect. Ive also visited the image folder where all the images are kept, they are all perfect too. Only when I upload the site and access it via the domain the pictures go all funny. I have no idea of whats going on!

Here is one page of the site, all the other pages are exactly the same quality, http://www.qubehosting.co.uk/preview/

Can anyone suggest what might have gone wrong. Some of the images, I put together in Word. I copied and pasted them onto FrontPage, there was no problem. It looked just how it should have.

chreo
08-27-2006, 09:49 PM
I just took a look at one of your pictures to see what format it was in, and checked properties. This was set as alt. text: “http://www.qubehosting.co.uk/preview/index_files/image013.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors."
See if you get a better result with .jpg

Pennimus
08-27-2006, 09:50 PM
Looks like Frontpage (shudder) is over-optimising your Gifs when you save the file. I won't go near the thing so I don't know how you could change that behaviour, but I'm sure it will be in the FP help files somewhere.

General tip though - you're getting off to a bad start as a hosting company that quite clearly doesn't know much about the web. Why are you using images as text? Perhaps worse, why are you using Frontpage at all?

J1mmy
08-27-2006, 10:09 PM
The original file is a bad copy, if I try and convert it to a JPEG, I dont think it would improve.

Pennimus, I usually use Dreamweaver to create pages, but I dont like its limited customizable features, or maybe I just dont know about them. Im used to the FP options etc from other programs to I decided to use that. Don't worry, Im not going to be providing technical support for the web hosting, they are usually about customer accounts anyway. I just didnt expect this at all. I havent use FP to such an extent.

Ive changed the settings in the options. Ive set it that images over 256colours should be saved as JPEG, including those under 256 colours aswell. However, there doesnt seem to be a difference. Ive even changed the location and saved it to a fresh folder, still no change.

VIPStephan
08-27-2006, 11:40 PM
Do you have any graphic editor? Programs that deal with graphics anyway might be better to optimize graphics for web than a crappy HTML editor.
You edit the graphics with the graphic editor and put the according HTML code for them into the document with the HTML editor.

Everybody does the things that he/she/it is proficient in.

J1mmy
08-27-2006, 11:48 PM
Do you have any graphic editor? Programs that deal with graphics anyway might be better to optimize graphics for web than a crappy HTML editor.
You edit the graphics with the graphic editor and put the according HTML code for them into the document with the HTML editor.

Everybody does the things that he/she/it is proficient in.

I have a few graphic edittors. Ive tried fireworks for a start and it doesnt seem to work. I dont see how it can work since the image is poor to start with. I cant save it as another file type either. I have no idea what to do.

Maybe if I know what the problem is that is casuing it, it might help troubleshoot it.

VIPStephan
08-27-2006, 11:53 PM
Fireworks is actually pretty good for that. You can export images ("File" > "Image Preview" or "Ctrl+Shift+X") and save them in several different formats and with a lot of settings.
Maybe you can show us the original image and we can figure out a way to export/transform it properly?

J1mmy
08-28-2006, 12:12 AM
Well the images you see on the link above are actually the only images available. I copied and pasted them into FP thinking that FP would save them as they are itself, that wasnt the case.

So because the source file is bad, converting it to another format wouldnt make a difference. I think that would only work if the original file was perfect and I was getting problems with one specific format.

mlseim
08-28-2006, 03:51 AM
And there are people left that still use 800 pixel-wide browsers ...
Navigation is pretty tough with the menu bar breaking the plane
of the monitor. With your layout (that has a bit of white space), you
could actually make it fluid to fit all monitor sizes ... just a thought.

J1mmy
08-28-2006, 11:04 AM
And there are people left that still use 800 pixel-wide browsers ...
Navigation is pretty tough with the menu bar breaking the plane
of the monitor. With your layout (that has a bit of white space), you
could actually make it fluid to fit all monitor sizes ... just a thought.

How could I achieve that?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum