View Full Version : Whats consuming time with this php program?

RogerC
08-27-2006, 03:39 AM
Hi all!

I’m “real” new to PHP, so.......

After several battles with some cgi code(I'm new to that also), I ran across some PHP code in a post by “mlseim” for uploading files, it really works very nicely. Thanks mlseim!

I don’t understand much of the syntax PHP uses, but I have been programming for some time (C-C++) so the flow looks somewhat familiar. I need to dig up a good book on PHP.

A question I have is based on this code.

<?php

// file phpinfo.php
//phpinfo();

ini_set('upload_max_filesize','2M');

//Get the number of files to be uploaded
$num = $_POST['num'];

//Start the Loop
for ($x = 1; $x <= $num; $x++)
{
//Make sure a file has been selected for upload
if (is_uploaded_file($_FILES['file'.$x]['tmp_name']))
{
//Get the size of the current file
$size = $_FILES['file'.$x]['size'];

//Display message
echo "Filesize: ".$size . "<BR>";

//Make sure that this file is <= to 500KB (or whatever size limit you want).
if ($size <= 500000)
{
//Move the uploaded file ... "uploads/" is where they will be stored.
if (move_uploaded_file($_FILES['file'.$x]['tmp_name'],'uploads/'.$_FILES['file'.$x]['name']))
{
//Display message
echo "File: ".$_FILES['file'.$x]['name'] . " uploaded.<BR>";
}
else
{
//Unable to move file
echo "File: ".$_FILES['file'.$x]['name']. " error moving file.<BR>";
}
}
else
{
//File too large
echo "File: " . $_FILES['file'.$x]['name'] . " File Too Large.<BR>";
}
}
else
{
//No file selected
echo "No File Selected.<BR>";
}
} //End of loop
?>