...

View Full Version : Linux CPU



NancyJ
08-24-2006, 09:11 PM
Is there a way under Linux to determine what hardware (particularly CPU) that you have installed in your machine. I'm having doubts about whether we're getting what we paid for.

oracleguy
08-24-2006, 09:23 PM
Type cat /proc/cpuinfo and it should display the CPU info.

NancyJ
08-24-2006, 10:12 PM
Cheers. Interestingly it reports 4x 3.2Ghz Xeons - I thought we only had 2...

NancyJ
08-24-2006, 10:14 PM
cache size is only 16KB though - that seems very low. Not sure if thats normal for a xeon though. I know our other server has a 512KB Cache on a single p4 2.4Ghz

NancyJ
08-24-2006, 10:16 PM
this is the full output

processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.20GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 3192.292
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 6370.09

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.20GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 3192.292
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 6383.20

processor : 2
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.20GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 3192.292
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 6383.20

processor : 3
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.20GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 3192.292
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 6383.20

nytrokiss
08-24-2006, 10:28 PM
also use dmesg | grep cpu or grep intel

oracleguy
08-24-2006, 10:56 PM
It will report 4 because if those 2 xeons are hyperthreaded, it will report 1 CPU for the physical processor and 1 for the logical processor. That is probably the case especially with the "ht" flag on the CPU.

That cache size is probably the L1 cache. The P4 you are thinking about, thats probably the size of the L2 cache. I guess that distro doesn't list the other cache sizes. Others might though, I think I've seen it list the L1, L2 and L3 cache sizes under Gentoo.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum