View Full Version : linux question

scroots
11-05-2002, 09:26 PM
i have no knowledge of linux.
i am considering installing linux when i get a new PC.
what should i be aware of about linux e.g. incompatability etc?
does linux support USB?
which linux would be most right for me? the home user, i develop serverside pages, i`m a web designer and mp3 listener
what are the major differences other than speed and buglessness of linux compared to windows?
can i have windows and linux on the same PC?
is the version of linux that would suit me available for free?

thanks
scroots

Bil:)
11-06-2002, 10:48 AM
Originally posted by scroots
i have no knowledge of linux.
i am considering installing linux when i get a new PC.
what should i be aware of about linux e.g. incompatability etc?

Linux is awesome, but are you wanting to take on a whole new learning curve? Many of your current MS apps don't work on Linux, but see below

does linux support USB?

Yes.

which linux would be most right for me? the home user, i develop serverside pages, i`m a web designer and mp3 listener

Have a look at http://lindows.com Very exciting for home user!

what are the major differences other than speed and buglessness of linux compared to windows?

*No crashes* Lots of free apps. Very cool.

can i have windows and linux on the same PC?

Absolutely.

is the version of linux that would suit me available for free?

See lindows again. Only $99 and tons of free apps from their click-n-run warehouse.

thanks
scroots

HIH

SpeedFreak
11-06-2002, 10:50 AM
IMHO Mandrake 9.0 is better than lindows

its an easy way to learn linux and is great for desktop or server use. It actually teaches you stuff as opposed to lindow which just tries to make windows users at home :)

cheers

bcarl314
11-06-2002, 11:30 AM
Also, I believe there is a "Windows for Linux" program called Wine out there. It's supposed to emulate a windows environment, and enable you to run windows apps on a linux box.