...

View Full Version : how to get a navigation bar like this...



aoxk61
08-04-2006, 02:58 PM
Hi,

If you go to www.Play.com and look at the way their navigation system works, you can see that when you click on another button such as 'Electronics', the navigation buttons next to it do not reload when the page is refreshed to go to the 'Electronics' page. Only the 'Electronics' button and whatever is underneath reloads. This allows the page to load quicker because most of the buttons do not need to reload.

Could someone please tell me what this method is called and what software allows me to do this? ImageReady?

Thanks for your help.

Allan
08-05-2006, 02:33 AM
If you take a look at this image you will see that your theory is infact, wrong.

http://images.play.com/SiteCSS/Play/v9.050/img/navbar/electronics.gif

dan.s
08-05-2006, 01:24 PM
The page is cached by the browser so doesn't have to reaload. Only the menu does. This makes it quicker.

PNK|design
08-05-2006, 04:28 PM
If you want to build some good, accessible menu, just go http://www.alvit.de/css-showcase/css-navigation-techniques-showcase.php

Here you find better technics than that one. :)

threetimechamps
08-22-2006, 08:34 AM
I would suggest learning AJAX(asychronous processing) technique, if your concerned about loading time.

Brokenhope
08-22-2006, 09:15 PM
I would suggest learning AJAX(asychronous processing) technique, if your concerned about loading time.
I dont see how that would really reduce load time... it wouldnt.

If your concerned about loading, preload all images and cache them with javascript. Use as much CSS as possible, as the stylesheet is cached too, and then use divs and such for the layout. You can reduce huge files to really small files using those methods... which means faster load.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum