...

View Full Version : queries - parameters



irish87
07-22-2006, 05:36 PM
Can I create an SQL query with a parameter so that when the query is run I have to enter in some value to complete the running of the query, or, is this something that should be resolved with perl??

Irish87.

guelphdad
07-22-2006, 07:46 PM
I believe you can do that with a stored procedure but you'd have to check the manual. I'm not familiar enough to say whether that is correct or not though.

vinyl-junkie
07-22-2006, 10:06 PM
You can create stored procedures in MySQL 5.0. Here (http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/stored-procedures.html) is the documentation reference for it.

guelphdad
07-23-2006, 12:30 AM
vinyl, I knew that a stored procedure could be created, just not if it would suit the posters purposes.

I need to fiddle around with those, though I know too I've read opinions on not using them as well.

thanks for providing the link of course.

irish87
07-24-2006, 12:02 PM
Thanks a million Vinyl Junkie and guelphdad!!! thats superb!! Works an absolute treat!!!

Irish87.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum