...

View Full Version : load content in three divs



dckantor
07-07-2006, 04:34 PM
I would like to do the following.
When I click on a link I want to load three different sets of content into three different divs on my page. For example clicking on a menu link at the top of my page loads 1. a new image in the header div 2. a new submenu in the navigation div 3. new content in my main content div.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

vwphillips
07-07-2006, 07:36 PM
divobject.innerHTML='limited HTML Code';


or using existing elements

divobject.appendChild(exisitingelement.cloneNode(true));

or if all objects ane defined in the div

specifiedobject.display='none';
specifiedobject.display='';


but need to know more about you application for best method.

dckantor
07-07-2006, 09:28 PM
Well here's some more detail if it will help. I want to layout a page in my site so that across the top there are a few menu options (say 5 of them) contained within a div. When the user clicks on one of them there are 3 things that change.

1. a graphic in a div below the menu changes
2. a new sub menu appears in a left-hand div below the graphic
3. content related to the sub menu appears in a right-hand div along side the sub menu.

Then as the user navigates through the sub menu on the left only the block of content on the right changes while the sub nav, graphic above, and main nav above the graphic remain static.

lots of commercial site seem to do this though I don't know quite how to do it with divs (they often use frames or iframes).

Do-able?

thanks

vwphillips
07-08-2006, 09:29 AM
they often use frames or iframes

so that the data is stored on a number of pages.

if you store all the data on a single page it becomes too large and difficult to maintain.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum