...

View Full Version : Targeting Flash, Different Frameset



robindean
06-25-2006, 09:33 PM
Hello and thanks in advance.

I've been attempting to create (with big help from better coders than I) a javascript / flash-actionscript which involves a flash document in one frameset and the javascript in another.

At first, it only worked in Safari (Mac). A friend helped me to get it working for Safari (Mac), IE (Windows) and Netscape/Firefox (Windows).

It does NOT, however, work in IE (Mac) or Netscape/Firefox (Mac).

I'd very much like to have it working in as many browsers as possible, if not universally in all of them (smirk).

One user suggested that I use the "Flash/JavaScript Integration Kit" and I'd be happy to if I could just get someone to show me HOW.

I understand the installation well enough, no prob. So, now for my question ...

Based on the following code, is there an easier or more streamlined way to get the same output in all current browsers, without errors? If not, how would I get the "Flash/JavaScript Integration Kit" to do this?

My concept is simple but getting to work reliably is troubling :rolleyes:

The code ...

NOTE: "upper" is the frameset and "navigation" is the flash doc.

<html>
<head>
<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
function reSet(target, frameNumber)
{
parent.upper.document.navigation.TCallFrame(target, frameNumber);
}
//-->
</script>********
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF">*
<form><input type="BUTTON" value="Reset" onclick="reSet('/', 3)"></form>
</body>
</html>

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-26-2006, 06:18 AM
Post a link to your page please or post the rest of your code.

robindean
06-26-2006, 06:42 PM
Here ya go ...

http://www.robindean.com/main2.html

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-26-2006, 06:53 PM
Try

<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function reSet(target, frameNumber)
{
parent.frames['upper'].document.getElementById('navigation').TCallFrame(target, frameNumber);
}
//-->
</script>

robindean
06-26-2006, 08:26 PM
I tried this one. Another person also suggested it.

Unfortunately, not only does it not solve the problem ... it doesn't work with Netscape for Windows either (which I already have working).



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum