...

View Full Version : Need a wireless router



Spookster
06-14-2006, 02:30 AM
I'm in the market to purchase a new wireless router. A recent thunderstorm lightning strike fried the one I have along with the cable modem and the cable going from the wall to the modem.

If you currently have one if you would be so kind as to post the brand and model along with some pros/cons of it I would appreciate it.

oracleguy
06-14-2006, 02:46 AM
I have linksys WRT54G wireless router that I've been using for the last two years. It works pretty good and I have been satisfied with it. I know that if you do use it as a router onto the internet that if you really hammer it with lots of traffic (and i mean lots) for a long period of time, it will get a little weird and need to be power cycled.

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-14-2006, 03:27 AM
I currently have a Dlink DI-524. The admin control panel is easy to use and gives you a lot of options, such as specifying signal strength, wep keys, ip addresses, and mac address cloning. For a few days I was being hit with a "Packet of Death" basically someone trying to gain access to the systems on the network. My router dropped all of the packets. I noticed no slowing down of the network speed. If you have zone alarm, it can be setup to use zone alarm for added protection. A while back my connection was going in and out but it turned out to be my cable modem. Got a new modem and haven't had the problem since.

Spookster
06-14-2006, 03:39 AM
Hmm Now that I think of it I think i'd like to find one with decent firewall capabilities so that I might get rid of Zone Alarm. Eventually i'll set up a linux box just for that purpose but in the mean time i'd like to find a wireless router with advanced firewall features. I keep seeing SPI firewall listed as features of some newer routers. Has anybody worked with this? Is it any good? Is it as good as IPTables?

Skyzyx
06-14-2006, 05:10 AM
Personally, I can't say enough good things about the Airport Express. It works great with my PC's, Mac, PSP, and Tivos. Besides that, it's ridiculously easy to configure... like stupid easy.

JamieR
06-14-2006, 11:17 AM
I've got a Netgear DG834 v2 ADSL wireless firewall router..had it coming up for about 9 months and never had a problem with it.

jkd
06-14-2006, 03:16 PM
I have both a D-Link DI-524 and an Airport Express, and have used them with an Al. Powerbook, an iBook, and a Dell Inspiron.

Oddly enough, the Airport Express has had more problems with my Powerbook than the D-Link ever did (e.g. not giving out ip addresses to me - solved only by a soft reset). The D-link also has a 4 port 100mbps switch, as opposed to the Airport Express's nonexistant switch or hub. The range also seems to be a bit better on the D-Link, and it is much more configurable than the Airport, and last of all, the D-Link can be had for close to $40 after rebate, while the Airport Express is over $100. The one redeeming feature of the Airport Express is the AirTunes and the USB printer over wireless feature.

I've also played with a Linksys WRT54G a little bit, and it was *highly* reliable (never ever requiring a reset to fix it), but I feel like the D-Link was easier to configure.

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-14-2006, 04:50 PM
You can still print wirelessly if the systems are networked and there is at least one printer connected to a system. I do that all of the time. We have a pc and a laptop. The pc is connected through an ethernet cable and my laptop is wireless. I just setup a workgroup for both computers and I am able to print using the pc print as long as I know the login for the pc I am good to go. Seeing as how I setup the pc in the first place, I know the login.

Spookster
06-14-2006, 04:59 PM
I currently have a Dlink DI-524. The admin control panel is easy to use and gives you a lot of options, such as specifying signal strength, wep keys, ip addresses, and mac address cloning. For a few days I was being hit with a "Packet of Death" basically someone trying to gain access to the systems on the network. My router dropped all of the packets. I noticed no slowing down of the network speed. If you have zone alarm, it can be setup to use zone alarm for added protection. A while back my connection was going in and out but it turned out to be my cable modem. Got a new modem and haven't had the problem since.

How configurable is the advanced firewall?

Spookster
06-14-2006, 05:02 PM
I've got a Netgear DG834 v2 ADSL wireless firewall router..had it coming up for about 9 months and never had a problem with it.

Although I don't use DSL many of the NetGear routers have the same firewall features. I keep seeing them mention a double firewall. What kind of features specifically does it have or how configurable is it?

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-14-2006, 05:28 PM
How configurable is the advanced firewall?
Here is a screenshot of the Firewall section. The only complaint I have about my router is the admin panel doesn't seem to work too well in Firefox.
It seems the Firefox functionality may been either due to older Firefox versions or Dlink released some firmware that fixed this problem, it seems to work fine now in Firefox

Spookster
06-15-2006, 05:38 PM
I was doing some research on my quest to find a new wireless router and came across this Security Now interview with Steve Gibson from www.grc.com where they discuss firewall security and your router. I would highly suggest reading for those that have set up home networks or even just anybody with a broadband connection.

http://www.grc.com/SecurityNow.htm

I've attached the transcript of the episode 3 interview.

Spookster
06-15-2006, 08:54 PM
And here is an article that went with that:
http://www.grc.com/nat/nat.htm

More good reading.

Spookster
06-16-2006, 01:52 AM
Well I think I have decided on a router. After doing extensive exhausting research I think I will go with the Belkin Wireless Pre-N router (http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=184316).

I had it narrowed down between that and one of the Linksys WRT54GX series of wireless routers.

I got a better warm and fuzzy feeling from the Belkin.

daniel_g
06-16-2006, 04:19 AM
Question about 802.11n. I know n technollogy it's backwards compatible with g technollogy, but in order to achieve its full speed, does it need a 802.11n wireless card on the computer?

EDIT: Oh, never mind, the Belkin link from avobe gave me the answer. For those of you that don't want to read, it does require a n network card, but it has proven to increase speed of g and b devices.

oracleguy
06-16-2006, 04:29 AM
I've used some pre-n stuff, it is pretty cool. A pretty good range improvement over g.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum