...

View Full Version : Fox has a problem with IE!!



ArcticFox
06-08-2006, 07:57 AM
Okay. For those who know me - NO LAUGHING!

And I don't want to hear anyone suggest I use another browser, cause it's not going to happen!


Anyhoo...
IE6 keeps having to shut down for some reason. I used the WinXP CD to uninstall IE6 - therefore IE no longer exists on my computer, right?

But, I still get the error window popping up telling me that IE encountered a problem and needs to shut down... this is when IE is not only NOT running, but not even installed on my computer.

I've tried fixing the registry and reinstalling Windows, but the problem continues.

AVG reports no viri.

And it just did it again!:


Error Signature

AppName: iexplore.exe AppVer: 6.0.2800.1106 ModName: ntdll.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.1106 Offset: 00002109


The following files will be included in this error report:
C:\DOCUME~1\ARCTIC~1\LOCALS~1\Temp1\WERB1.tmp.dir00\appcompat.txt



Ideas?

ArcticFox
06-08-2006, 07:59 AM
I also have a problem with WS_FTP;


WS_FTP does not appear to have been installed correctly for the current user. Ipswitch WS_FTP will exit.


I don't know how the two can be connected, but there's the info.

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-08-2006, 02:18 PM
I don't even think IE can officially be uninstalled. I think its still there some how. I actually think its in the registry some how. Delete your temp files by doing a disk cleanup. Don't know if this will work in XP http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;293907&Product=winxp

ArcticFox
06-09-2006, 05:32 PM
Well I found iexplorer.exe

It was sitting in the system32 forder as a hidden file... wonder how it got there?

I was able do shut down the program then quickly delete the file before it started up again (by itself, mind you). Now to go find WS_FTP - guess I'll have to put her down as well.

DELOCH
06-12-2006, 08:42 PM
I belive the file should be called IExplore.exe and it should be in c:\windows

hope it helps :D

ps: IE6 owns :D

ArcticFox
06-13-2006, 12:30 AM
I ended up taking the Hulkamaniacs way of fixing it - Formatted the HD and reinstalled WinXP. :thumbsup:

Thanks for your help, though!

IE is my Master... :D



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum