...

View Full Version : can i copy my site onto someones server - only temp



crmpicco
06-03-2006, 05:37 PM
hi all,

i was wondering if someone would be as kind as to let me copy my ASP sit along with my 1 MySQL DB onto their server. It is only to be used to show one person, my client, who is having problems with his server ATM.

even if it was only up for 5-7 days then pulled!

Also, its clean not XXX or anything :-).

Any help appreciated.

Picco

bin
06-04-2006, 05:54 PM
why not sign up for free hosting with like, awaryspace

crmpicco
06-05-2006, 07:35 PM
awaryspace returns no hits on google, does it still exist?

crmpicco
06-05-2006, 08:07 PM
i'm not sure if you have mis-spelt it or something??? i posted the same question on EE, but all i got back was 'free hosting doesnt exist anymore'.....is this the casE?

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-05-2006, 08:50 PM
Well at least not free hosting for asp and your database. Free html hosting sure. Most places have ads now days. This might be of interest. http://www.themooseisloose.net/freehosting.html You will need a domain name in order to use their free hosting option. Its only a 5 dollar one time fee for setup then its free after that.

crmpicco
06-05-2006, 08:52 PM
thanks Aerospace, you dont happen to have a server yourself do you?

crmpicco
06-05-2006, 09:06 PM
Aerospace, i was looking at the themooseisloose there, it mentions mysql db but can it take ASp scriping?

ubik
06-05-2006, 10:22 PM
http://awardspace.com/

is banner-free, free web-hosting. they allow PHP, 1 MySQL db, CGI.. not sure about ASP might wanna try it out though.

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-05-2006, 10:35 PM
I don't have an asp server no. Yes they allow asp. You will need to go with the windows server if you want to use asp.

crmpicco
06-06-2006, 06:40 PM
thanks Aerospace, i signed up for the $5 one. Ihavent recieved any login details yet....have you signed up yourself???/

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-06-2006, 09:32 PM
Yeah I have but as I said you needed to own a domain name first. You should get your login within 24 hours. They do need a working email address to send the details to.

crmpicco
06-07-2006, 12:36 PM
ok, yeah i own www.crmpicco.co.uk, i bought it on UKreg in 2003. Yeah, i definately used my primary email address, i have recieved mailings from them, just no login details.

Did you use the Linux/Windows server?

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-07-2006, 04:59 PM
I used linux. The windows server can run asp. Okay in that email they ask you to sign up in their forums. Go ahead and do that. You should get your login info withing a few hours. It takes time. Its not some "instant" thing.

itsonlybarney
06-10-2006, 04:39 PM
Do you still want some webspace? I can't offer an but I found some free ones for you.

http://www.aspfree.com/asp/freeasphost.asp has a few towards the bottome of the page.

bin
06-16-2006, 05:50 PM
yes sorry i meant awardspace

sorry



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum