...

View Full Version : for 1024



jeorg
10-28-2002, 04:36 PM
but for 1024 normally I must get the TD = 800 in the middle of the screen, it doesn't work for opera, the 2 td on the side have a value iof 0 even with
table-layout:auto;
empty-cells: show;
for the table

ronaldb66
10-28-2002, 04:43 PM
Eh? Could you reformulate, or in fact formulate, your question? Something to do with table and table cell widths, but a little bit more information might help the answers along.

jeorg
10-28-2002, 07:48 PM
sorry it was not a new thread but an answer !!

here it is
---------------------------------------------------
<body>
<table class="tbAll">
<tr>
<td> </td>
<td class="tdSite">all my website here</td>
<td> </td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>

--------------------------------------------------------


.tbAll
{
width:100%;
}
.tdSite
{
width:800px;
}

--------------------------------------------------------------

with this code I get my website in the middel except for opera , it ignore the td and doesn't do this accordeon effect, how can I do it with opera without using div align= center

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

if I look a t this code with a 1024 pixel screen I normally get all exactly in the middle, but not with opera ... why ?

dauvm
10-28-2002, 11:18 PM
opera doesn't like you :)

actually i'm not sure... i'll play around with that for a little while and get back to you.

-Doug

jeorg
11-01-2002, 08:39 AM
yes Just to know why Opera dosen't put the page in the middle

in my exemple this sentence : "all my website here"

thanks

dauvm
11-01-2002, 09:45 PM
hey jeorg...

are you trying to just get one 800px section centered? cus that's what it appears like to me... and it that's all you want to do then you should be able to use a tabless layout very easily in this case. Try this:

<style type="text/css">
#mySite {
width: 800px;
margin-left: auto;
margin-right: auto;
/* a border to help you check stuff */
border:1px solid #000;
}
</style>
*******
<div id="mySite">
Content cenetered here
</div>

well sorry if I assumed wrong and you were actually planning on using those other columns :)

-Doug

redhead
11-01-2002, 11:08 PM
just a hint...

please dont go for 800px width... you'll upset poeple like me on 800*600's... 720 is about the max you should do it... once youve accounted for scrollbars and margins etc... ;)

<edit> or is that why you called your post "for 1024"? :D</edit>

jeorg
11-02-2002, 07:59 PM
thank you for answering burti t was not at all my question, my question was why OPERA do that ? and in my code what must be if I want with Opera to have my website in the middle, I know quite well CSS2 and nearlly not Opera

dauvm
11-02-2002, 08:53 PM
hey jeorg, sorry about the mixup...

My best guess at why Opera doesn't like that code is because
a) it tends toward standard compliance
b) it is more strict than IE or Moz

Opera's claim to fame (or lack thereof) is being very small; a "lightweight" browser... they don't have megabytes worth of extra code in there to help it display unclear codes correctly.

So lets take a look at what you're actually asking a browser to display with your code. You have one cell with no specified width and no content, another that is 800px wide, and then one more that also has no specified width and no content. When you look at it that way, you realize by default there is nothing in there that really tells the middle cell to be centered is there? Not only this but tables do not inherit all the css properties correctly (not just in opera).

That's the best answer I can give you, maybe someone else can add on. My suggestion though is user the tabless layout I showed above, but if you're going for true backwards compatibility you could try an HTML 3.2 DTD or something like that and just use the <center> tag around one table? hehe.. not sure how much opera would like one either, but you can try...

-Doug

jeorg
11-02-2002, 10:52 PM
will you call such a code un clear !! ??

.tbAll
{
width:100%;
}
.tdSite
{
width:800px;
}



I think OPera is not a good browser, mOzilla is very strict and it works, normally with such a code if a table = 100% and the middle TD = 800px , then the 2 TD on both sides must divide the place



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum