...

View Full Version : Using different db servers



iota
05-15-2006, 02:32 PM
Hi db masters,


Can I use databases from different servers ?

I mean, for example, I have two sites :

www.site1.com --- hosted by providerA
www.site2.com --- hosted by providerB


The site2 uses databases from providerA for running queries or updating tables ..etc.

Is it OK ?

Beagle
05-15-2006, 05:14 PM
this is not a mysql question. It's a question for whatever server-side language you're coding in.

But yes, AFAIK, you can keep as many database connections open as you want.

GJay
05-15-2006, 05:28 PM
It is mysql-related in the sense that the database (the server) will need to be setup to accept connections from the outside world (or preferably a nominated IP), but I'd question why you're doing this, and the expertise on this forum does seem to be sql-related rather than server-related so there are probably better places to ask/find the information...

iota
05-15-2006, 05:29 PM
this is not a mysql question. It's a question for whatever server-side language you're coding in.

But yes, AFAIK, you can keep as many database connections open as you want.

Yeah with PHP.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum