...

View Full Version : calling from-1 database, 2 tables



vixtran
10-26-2002, 03:12 AM
U guys are great! thanks for all your help here

OK, what if I want to call from 1 database, from 2 fields in 2 diff tables?

how would i select them?

for php output.. I got calling one down from one table..but now from 2 diff tables

thanks again

Spookster
10-26-2002, 07:50 AM
http://sqlcourse2.com/joins.html

vixtran
10-26-2002, 03:23 PM
thanks guys/girls, you are extremely beneficial to the community. That was a great site, and extremely helpful. The problem I have is just not know what the variables, and stuff are actually called..So it is hard to search through a million pages on the web looking. THANKS AGAIN !!!

Spookster
10-26-2002, 05:44 PM
Well you need to provide us with more than just talking about it otherwise we can't help. Right now all I can do is say the same thing you can find in that tutorial I posted:

SELECT table1.field1, table2.field1 FROM table1, table2 WHERE where condition here;

vixtran
10-26-2002, 11:44 PM
lol am sorry . I will think of that next time, but it wont go :-( I am missing something

<?
$db_name = "user_mapforum";
$table_name = "ibf_post";
$table_name2 = "ibf_topics";
$connection = @mysql_connect("localhost", "user name", "pass") or die("Couldn't Connect.");
$db = @mysql_select_db($db_name, $connection) or die("Couldn't select database.");
$sql = "SELECT ibf_posts.ibf_posts, ibf_topics.title FROM $table_name, $table_name2
WHERE ibf_topics.title = ibf_posts.post_date";
$result = @mysql_query($sql, $connection) or die("Couldn't execute query.");
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)) {
$ibf_topics = $row['ibf_topics'];
$ibf_posts = $row['ibf_posts'];
$display_title .= "<p><strong>$ibf_topics</strong></p>";
$display_post .= "<p><strong>$ibf_posts</strong></p>";
}
?>

I keep getting couldnt execute query..I think ..well I am missing something..I am calling with echo command on another page using the $display

ohh well I hope people can sort through that mess. thanks

vixtran
10-28-2002, 02:33 PM
Umm Im lost hellp lol, I still can not figure where my error is

Spookster
10-28-2002, 03:44 PM
Try hardcoding your table names in first. If the query cannot find the tables then that will stop it from running.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum