View Full Version : Javascript works in IE & Opera, but not Mozilla

05-09-2006, 11:18 PM
Hello all,

I'm working on a new site, and as part of it, I've used some code from another site of mine that takes a single click and changes multiple frames (yeah, frames, I know). Anyway, that code works find on the old site with all different browsers, but with the new site, it only works with IE and Opera. Mozilla doesn't do a thing. It's frustrating.

As you can see on the new site, besides the navigation script, I also have one running that does a mouseover/onclick effect to the nav buttons. I'm wondering if this could somehow be the cause of the Mozilla problem.

Below is a link to the "new" site.


And here is a link to the "old" site (where the nav script is working).



(When looking at the javascript console output in Mozilla, I get these errors over and over:

mClick is not defined
parent.frames.contentFrame has no properties
mOut is not defined


05-09-2006, 11:58 PM
Nevermind--I figured it out.

Sorry, this thread can be deleted.

05-10-2006, 12:04 AM
I'm not sure of this (since I've never tested/used it), but this link makes it appear as though you have to access frames in a different way in Mozilla:


here's an excerpt from the page:
the frameset object does not provide interfaces for getting to the subframes it manages.

To get the frames in a document, you must ask the document itself, using the document.getElementById() method and the id of the frame(s) you want, or the document.getElementsByTagName("FRAME"), which returns a NamedNodeList array: ....

05-11-2006, 12:46 AM
Intranet Explorer often provides shortcut codes to access info and Opera copies some of them to make the browser friendlier to IE only pages. Using the proper way of accessing things will work in all browsers not just Mozilla.