...

View Full Version : Can't fix this syntax error...



mgisonno
05-08-2006, 10:03 PM
So basically this code is throwing a 'syntax' error and I can't seem to figure out why. Obviosly I'm a novice javascripter, so go easy on me.

I have this in the head of the document:


<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function button(url, color, text, width, height) {
if (target=="") {
document.write ("<div class='" + color + "button' onclick='javascript:window.location='" + url + "';' style='width: " + width + "px; height: " + height + "px;'><a href='" + url + "' class='buttonLink'>" + text + "</a></div>");
}
else if (target=="new") {
document.write ("<div class='" + color + "button' onclick='javascript:window.open('" + url + "'; return false;') style='width: " + width + "px;height: " + height + "px;'><a href='" + url + "' class='buttonLink' target='_blank'>" + text + "</a></div>");
}
}
// -->
</script>


And this in the body:


<script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript">
var target = "new";
button("http://www.urlgoeshere.com", "green", "button test", "300", "20");
</script>

Beagle
05-08-2006, 10:19 PM
document.write ("<div class='" + color + "button' onclick='javascript:window.open('" + url + "'; return false;') style='width: " + width + "px;height: " + height + "px;'><a href='" + url + "' class='buttonLink' target='_blank'>" + text + "</a></div>");

I highlighted the problem in red, should be:

document.write ("<div class='" + color + "button' onclick='javascript:window.open('" + url + "'); return false;' style='width: " + width + "px;height: " + height + "px;'><a href='" + url + "' class='buttonLink' target='_blank'>" + text + "</a></div>");

That could be it. It could also be the way you're using your quotes. Try this as well:

document.write ("<div class=\"" + color + "button\" onclick=\"javascript:window.open('" + url + "'); return false;\" style=\"width: " + width + "px;height: " + height + "px;'><a href=\"" + url + "\" class=\"buttonLink\" target=\"_blank\">" + text + "</a></div>");

mgisonno
05-08-2006, 10:26 PM
Thank you Beagle! I knew it was something stupid. I applied the ')' fix and still had the bug but i fixed the quotes and all is good now. Thanks for the ')' bug aswell though, i'm sure it might have caused something buggy.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum