View Full Version : Ftp help

05-08-2006, 09:30 PM
Hi, does someone have a tutorial on how to set up ftp on my computers? Thanks, (btw) Is it really confusing or am i just the onylone who is confused?:thumbsup:

05-08-2006, 09:38 PM
windows, mac, *nix, other?

05-08-2006, 09:55 PM
the windows will have the client side and linux the server side.

05-08-2006, 09:59 PM
well, for the client just go find an FTP client: cuteFTP, wsftp, or even use the command line ftp.

For the server, you need to install an ftp server app. On unix you've got things like vsftpd and proftpd. Either of these is fine.

What flavor of linux is the server running?

05-08-2006, 10:45 PM
slackware 10.2

05-08-2006, 10:49 PM
slackware 10.2
(btw) what would be a good windows ftp server?

05-09-2006, 12:48 AM
A good Windows FTP client..hmm, I'd recommend FileZilla Server personally. In terms of FTP client, I'd recommend FileZilla client or WS_FTP Professional.

05-09-2006, 03:11 AM
ah, i cant get it to work. I dont think my hostname is right how do i find it?

05-09-2006, 03:28 AM
I can't help you with windoze ftp servers, though for clients FileZilla is cool, WS_FTP is good, as is CuteFTP.

Slackware, hardcore. :thumbsup:

Just head to slackware.com, go to packages, and packages again, and search for ftp. Download ProFTPD to your server, and do: pkginstall proftpd-1.3.... or maybe it's installpkg, but whatever, do that, you'll be up and running.

As for your hostname...use your IP if you don't have a domain name registered. Your hostname is your domain name. If you don't have one, try it out with first.

05-09-2006, 07:56 PM
visit www.download.com and search for ftp and download any ftp software and install them on your computer.

If you want web ftp client then visit www.startftp.com

05-09-2006, 10:29 PM
use your IP if you don't have a domain name registered.
How owuld i register one? You mean from a domain name provider?

How would i start and stop it ey?

05-10-2006, 02:45 PM
hi there i have been trying to make this ftp server to work. i can connect localy but not over the web. i do not have a router. i have sbc for a connection how do i get it so i can uses it over the web. i have golden ftp server installed.

05-10-2006, 02:54 PM
How owuld i register one? You mean from a domain name provider?

Go to www.dns2go.com and register an account, give them your IP and register for a domain.