...

View Full Version : Ftp help



Cheeseboy
05-08-2006, 09:30 PM
Hi, does someone have a tutorial on how to set up ftp on my computers? Thanks, (btw) Is it really confusing or am i just the onylone who is confused?:thumbsup:

Beagle
05-08-2006, 09:38 PM
windows, mac, *nix, other?

Cheeseboy
05-08-2006, 09:55 PM
the windows will have the client side and linux the server side.

Beagle
05-08-2006, 09:59 PM
well, for the client just go find an FTP client: cuteFTP, wsftp, or even use the command line ftp.

For the server, you need to install an ftp server app. On unix you've got things like vsftpd and proftpd. Either of these is fine.

What flavor of linux is the server running?

Cheeseboy
05-08-2006, 10:45 PM
slackware 10.2

Cheeseboy
05-08-2006, 10:49 PM
slackware 10.2
(btw) what would be a good windows ftp server?

JamieR
05-09-2006, 12:48 AM
A good Windows FTP client..hmm, I'd recommend FileZilla Server personally. In terms of FTP client, I'd recommend FileZilla client or WS_FTP Professional.

Cheeseboy
05-09-2006, 03:11 AM
ah, i cant get it to work. I dont think my hostname is right how do i find it?

Beagle
05-09-2006, 03:28 AM
I can't help you with windoze ftp servers, though for clients FileZilla is cool, WS_FTP is good, as is CuteFTP.

Slackware, hardcore. :thumbsup:

Just head to slackware.com, go to packages, and packages again, and search for ftp. Download ProFTPD to your server, and do: pkginstall proftpd-1.3.... or maybe it's installpkg, but whatever, do that, you'll be up and running.

As for your hostname...use your IP if you don't have a domain name registered. Your hostname is your domain name. If you don't have one, try it out with 127.0.0.1 first.

charles888
05-09-2006, 07:56 PM
visit www.download.com and search for ftp and download any ftp software and install them on your computer.

If you want web ftp client then visit www.startftp.com

Cheeseboy
05-09-2006, 10:29 PM
use your IP if you don't have a domain name registered.
How owuld i register one? You mean from a domain name provider?

How would i start and stop it ey?
Thanks

dw5304
05-10-2006, 02:45 PM
hi there i have been trying to make this ftp server to work. i can connect localy but not over the web. i do not have a router. i have sbc for a connection how do i get it so i can uses it over the web. i have golden ftp server installed.

jonnybinthemix
05-10-2006, 02:54 PM
How owuld i register one? You mean from a domain name provider?
Thanks

Go to www.dns2go.com and register an account, give them your IP and register for a domain.

Jon



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum