View Full Version : Problems with Firefox browser

05-08-2006, 08:39 PM
I have been using FF for six months and I have been noticing some problems with the browser window. For some reason, everyone once in a while, my computer, running XP, will lump my FF window in with my file explorer window. For example, if I have My Documents open and My Computer open, as well as a FF window, my system lumps all three together as if the FF window was just another explorer window. :confused:
I think this might have something to do with using the FF tabs instead of having five or six separate browser windows open, but it just started happening recently and while it is not causing any real malfunctions to my system, it is rather irritating.

Would anyone know why this is happening?

05-08-2006, 08:54 PM
Are you running internet explorer 7?

05-08-2006, 09:35 PM
I don't think so...If IE7 is the newest one, then no.

05-09-2006, 08:36 AM
Hmm this happened to me before. I think it might be an issue with the IE Tab. Do you have the IE Tab extension installed?

05-09-2006, 10:57 AM
i have noticed that FF is using 112MB of my RAM, yet IE7b2 is using 9MB?? I am a FF fan, but can someone explain before I swing back to IE or Opera? LOL :-) This seems a BIG difference!

05-09-2006, 12:36 PM
I'm using Firefox with 3 tabs open and 7 extensions. It uses 60.3MB at the moment, quite much imo....
Restart Firefox and then look again at the usage of your memory.

05-09-2006, 04:36 PM
Hmm this happened to me before. I think it might be an issue with the IE Tab. Do you have the IE Tab extension installed?

I wasn't even aware that IE had a tab extension like FF....

Currently, I have one FF window open with 8 tabs. Do you think this might be simply because I have too many tabs open?

05-09-2006, 06:43 PM
No FF has an extension that allows IE to be run inside it. Its called IE Tab. I think one of the recent updates has made windows think Firefox is a windows explorer type thing. Because when I tried to view pages in IE, IE would open but would open in a Firefox tab.

05-09-2006, 07:03 PM
OT- The high memory usage is a misnomer of sorts. FF uses a cache aggressively for the forward and back buttons making it very fast for switching between tabs and history. This can be easily adjusted to use less but I don't have the link handy.

A few extensions from 3rd parties have memory leak issues but I believe many have been fixed. IETab is/was one of them.