...

View Full Version : absolutely positioned?



rezachemical
05-05-2006, 07:45 PM
okay, again.. it's me...

this time what i've got is a menu that i'm trying to position absolutely, but does it react w/ the logic that would be expected from setting something absolutely? no. it destroys the document flow.

here's the page: http://www.elitebeat.net/fres%20templates/one/one_index.html

why do i need so much help!?

harbingerOTV
05-06-2006, 12:03 AM
I played with it some and i can get things to move aorund butIm not sure what it's supposed to look like. any chance of posting a drawing or a picture or something of how it SHOULD look?

rezachemical
05-06-2006, 09:12 PM
sure thing, man... here ya go: http://www.restandeffect.com/almostp2p/layout.gif

thanks btw!:thumbsup:

drhowarddrfine
05-06-2006, 10:38 PM
Not sure what you were expecting but absolute positioning removes the div from the document flow allowing any preceding divs to rise up. This is expected behavior.

rezachemical
05-08-2006, 02:21 AM
if the div i'm absolutely positioning is being removed then why is it in the place it is and not 0 pixels from the top? did u look at the page?

rezachemical
05-08-2006, 02:33 AM
hmm and now, margin-right:-600px in my style sheet isn't working.


#realtor_field_value_realtor_photo {
margin-right:-600px;
margin-bottom:70px;
margin-top:-120px;
width:120px;
}

address is: http://gregharrison.freerealestatesoftware.net/stylesheets/designs/sheets/Rouge.css

drhowarddrfine
05-08-2006, 04:12 AM
if the div i'm absolutely positioning is being removed then why is it in the place it is and not 0 pixels from the top? did u look at the page?
Because they rise to the next positioned element or parent. Have you ever read the standards?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum