PDA

View Full Version : absolutely positioned?



rezachemical
05-05-2006, 08:45 PM
okay, again.. it's me...

this time what i've got is a menu that i'm trying to position absolutely, but does it react w/ the logic that would be expected from setting something absolutely? no. it destroys the document flow.

here's the page: http://www.elitebeat.net/fres%20templates/one/one_index.html

why do i need so much help!?

harbingerOTV
05-06-2006, 01:03 AM
I played with it some and i can get things to move aorund butIm not sure what it's supposed to look like. any chance of posting a drawing or a picture or something of how it SHOULD look?

rezachemical
05-06-2006, 10:12 PM
sure thing, man... here ya go: http://www.restandeffect.com/almostp2p/layout.gif

thanks btw!:thumbsup:

drhowarddrfine
05-06-2006, 11:38 PM
Not sure what you were expecting but absolute positioning removes the div from the document flow allowing any preceding divs to rise up. This is expected behavior.

rezachemical
05-08-2006, 03:21 AM
if the div i'm absolutely positioning is being removed then why is it in the place it is and not 0 pixels from the top? did u look at the page?

rezachemical
05-08-2006, 03:33 AM
hmm and now, margin-right:-600px in my style sheet isn't working.


#realtor_field_value_realtor_photo {
margin-right:-600px;
margin-bottom:70px;
margin-top:-120px;
width:120px;
}

address is: http://gregharrison.freerealestatesoftware.net/stylesheets/designs/sheets/Rouge.css

drhowarddrfine
05-08-2006, 05:12 AM
if the div i'm absolutely positioning is being removed then why is it in the place it is and not 0 pixels from the top? did u look at the page?
Because they rise to the next positioned element or parent. Have you ever read the standards?