View Full Version : Wireless help needed !

05-04-2006, 08:40 PM
Hi guys,

I have abit of a problem setting up my wireless internet connection.

I have a netgear wireless broadband router and aol 9.0.

I can get on the internet through aol using my router when my laptop is directly connected to it via the blue ethernet cable.

Now i have just bought a netgear wireless adapter card for my laptop and have installed drivers and software for it. It is working because it picks up my wireless router with excellent signal strength.

But i cant figure out how to get aol to connect to the internet through my router using the card.
It doesnt seem to want to have it ? Am i doing something wrong ?

Any ideas ??



05-04-2006, 09:41 PM
So, you have downloaded all the AOL software to your PC?

05-05-2006, 03:00 PM
have you configured the router?!

05-05-2006, 08:34 PM
Hi guys,

Yep i have upgraded my aol software to version 9.0 and the router is set-up.
Because if i have the blue ethernet cable plugged from router to my laptop it signs on with no trouble.

Just it doesnt see the wireless card as a point of access to the router.

In my control panel under network connections and under 'Lan or High Speed Internet' I have 'Local Area Connection' which is what is being used when the ethernet cable is plugged in. When i put my wireless card in my laptop a 'wireless conection' shows also.
Do these two connections need to be 'bridged' so if one is not present aol should use the other ? Or am i way off ?


05-06-2006, 12:07 AM
How are you getting IP addresses assigned? You might have an IP address set for the wired LAN adaptor and not for the wireless card, and DHCP on the router is incorrectly giving out IP addresses - it's a thought. Is it just the internet you're having problems with?

05-06-2006, 03:48 PM
The netgear probably has wireless disabled by default ... did you turn it on ? & if you did did you setup any kind of encryption (WEP etc) or turn on access control (mac address's) ???

05-06-2006, 05:13 PM
to be honest mate, for any of us to be of any real help to you, youll have to give us more information about whats happening and what you have done?

What did you configure and how did you configure it?

When you plug the pcmcia wireless adapter into the laptop, i assume you have the drivers correctly installed, does windows pop up with a baloon saying 'one or more wireless networks detected' ?

You dont need to bridge the connections if the broadband is set up on the router, it should be seen by the wireless network connection, i would say if it doesent say a wireless network is found, then i would go with firepages suggestion and check the wireless setting in the routers configuration, because if i remember rightly its disabled by standard.

hope ive helped..