View Full Version : Display result of slow script after page loads

davide101
05-04-2006, 05:55 PM
On my website, http://www.diabetesdaily.com, we have a script that aggregates content from a few dozen blogs. Every fifteen minutes, there's a pageload that takes about 15 seconds as the script deletes the cached RSS files and queries the new ones. I need to improve this and I have a few ideas but no clue how to implement them. There are two ways I can think of to improve this:

Method 1: Somehow display a "Loading Content" icon until the script is done running and then replace it with the actual content

Method 2: Run the script via a cron job every 15 minutes, somehow create a static file and include the static file

Is either these the right way to go? I'm a self-taught novice but I can get along well enough if you can offer a brief overview of what's necessary to accomplish this. I've had no luck trying to Google such a vague topic. :)

Thank you!

Vin0rz
05-04-2006, 06:42 PM
On my website, http://www.diabetesdaily.com, we have a script that aggregates content from a few dozen blogs. Every fifteen minutes, there's a pageload that takes about 15 seconds as the script deletes the cached RSS files and queries the new ones. I need to improve this and I have a few ideas but no clue how to implement them. There are two ways I can think of to improve this:

Method 1: Somehow display a "Loading Content" icon until the script is done running and then replace it with the actual content

Method 2: Run the script via a cron job every 15 minutes, somehow create a static file and include the static file

Is either these the right way to go? I'm a self-taught novice but I can get along well enough if you can offer a brief overview of what's necessary to accomplish this. I've had no luck trying to Google such a vague topic. :)

Thank you!