View Full Version : "Opening Hour" of a page

ickwong
05-03-2006, 12:22 PM
Hi, I have a question would like to ask if you guys expert can give me some help please.

Basically, I have a link here in a page "A" which links to another page "B". Now I would like to set something similar to an opening hour restriction on the page "B", which for example the user can only enter page "B", say, within 9am to 9pm. When for example the user clicks on the link (in page "A") at 7am, then it will not allow the user to enter page "B", and instead will take you to another page "C", in which it says "please come back between 9am to 9pm".

Now my question is, is this do-able? And if so, how should I go about writing the code? (I'm a PHP/Javascript beginner by the way...)

Thanks very much in advance.

Bill Posters
05-03-2006, 12:41 PM
Assuming that the hour you wish to reference is that of your host server (which, presumably, is in the right timezone for your needs)…

Place this PHP as the very first piece of code in the "B" document…

<?php

if (date("G") < 9 || date("G") > 21) header("Location: ./closed.php");

?>

There are other ways this could be done.
e.g. You could actually set the href of the link on page "A" according to the time, so the single link always points to the appropriate page.
Alternatively, you could simply replace the link on page "A" with a 'closed' notice during non-open hours.

ickwong
05-04-2006, 04:24 AM
Thanks for the reply Bill Posters. Can I just ask, if I use the alternative method to "set the href of the link on document 'A' according to the time", how should I do it? Since I don't kind of have access to document 'B'......
Thanks!

Bill Posters
05-04-2006, 09:27 AM
e.g.

You'd insert this piece of PHP where you want the link to go…

<p><?php
echo (date("G") < 9 || date("G") > 21) ? 'Sorry, we are currently closed.' : '<a href="b.php">Enter the shop</a>';
?></p>