...

View Full Version : Repeating background image - FF



seohr
05-01-2006, 05:19 PM
Hi,

example:

#back{
width:800px;
background-image: url(images/menu-pozadina.jpg);
background-repeat: repeat-y;
background-position: left top;
}

#content{width:550px;float:left;}

<div id="back">
<div id="content">Content</div>
</div>

Why i can't see background image in FF?

Ranger56
05-01-2006, 06:04 PM
try adding a height

kewlceo
05-01-2006, 06:20 PM
A <DIV> will only be as high as the content within it unless you specify otherwise, as Ranger pointed out. Another consideration: is your CSS embedded or in a separate file? For instance, my stylesheets are in a different directory than my HTML, so when I refer to my "images" folder from my stylesheets, I will do so as follows:


background-image: url(../images/menu-pozadina.jpg);

orcrist
05-01-2006, 06:21 PM
just to say hi :) ( or bok ;) ..and omg you noob)
..and that shoulda work, even wo height, but only as bg for that only word you have in
if you cant se it at all, somethings wrong with your path (or just try to refreash)

link to example?

seohr
05-01-2006, 07:09 PM
Its not problem in image path, im sure. It working in IE, but not in FF.

I will try to explain again.

I want 2 column layout, left is navigation, right is content, and i want that navigation div has 100% height as content, so i did another div to set background that will strech as content div, div "back":

<div id="back">
<div id="navigation">Navigation - 200px</div>
<div id="content">Content - 600 px</div>
</div>

I don't have this online yet.


just to say hi ( or bok ..and omg you noob)

Bok. And you are? :)

coolaid
05-01-2006, 07:41 PM
firefox doesn't know how to correctly use 'top left', 'bottom left', 'top right', etc, when it comes to background-position.

try using background-position: 100% 0;

******************************************

i just realized what your trying to do...
you're using floats without clears. try this:


<div id="back">
<div id="navigation">Navigation - 200px</div>
<div id="content">Content - 600 px</div>
<div style="clear:both;"></div>
</div>

IE auto clears things....

orcrist
05-01-2006, 07:49 PM
well, sorry if im stating the obvious, but could it be you havent cleared after float? FF wont extend parent around floated child, while IE will..try adding some bg color or some borders to your divs to see how far they go


i think i know you from mi3dot..i use same nick here and there, most active on client-side..new there tho, but ive read your seo tuts and all..respect :)

seohr
05-01-2006, 08:20 PM
i forget to clear :) it works now just fine.

thanks:

coolaid
orcrist
kewlceo
Ranger56

:)

i hope it help :) i don't see SEO forum here :)

Bill Posters
05-02-2006, 09:09 AM
firefox doesn't know how to correctly use 'top left', 'bottom left', 'top right', etc, when it comes to background-position.
That's news to me. I've never had any issues with FF mishandling backgrounds positioned using keywords (for both values).

Got any more info?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum