...

View Full Version : Textarea in NS7



Algorithm
10-24-2002, 06:43 AM
How do you make sure your textarea tags are closed in NS7? I'm closing it with </textarea>, but it doesn't work.

joh6nn
10-24-2002, 08:12 AM
...

if it's not working, then there's another problem. can we see the code?

Algorithm
10-24-2002, 09:30 AM
Yeah, http://www.nullinteractive.com/queryargs.shtml

PauletteB
10-24-2002, 11:44 AM
Looks like some sort of a bug with Netscape 7 ??

<form><textarea rows="5" cols="70"><i</textarea></form>
will do the same, but a space between the < and the i will close the textarea.

In Algorithm's case, a space at the same location, i < a or right before the end textarea tag will close the textarea.

jkd
10-24-2002, 11:57 AM
Looks fine in the 1.2 branch of Mozilla, and I highly doubt the 1.0 branch has this problem. Could you post a screenshot?

PauletteB
10-24-2002, 12:19 PM
http://www.mts.net/~unum/files/taclose.jpg

http://www.mts.net/~unum/files/taopen.jpg

Catman
10-24-2002, 01:44 PM
How about trying this:


<form><textarea rows="5" cols="70" value="&lt;i"></textarea></form>

PauletteB
10-24-2002, 03:57 PM
A solution yes, but entities shouldn't be necessary in a textarea.
Wouldn't you say?

BrainJar
10-24-2002, 04:06 PM
The &lt; entity is required simply so that the browser doesn't have to consider context when parsing the document. So when it sees a < character, it can assume it's the start of new tag.

Algorithm
10-24-2002, 10:36 PM
This may not be feasible, but I'd prefer to have a solution that wouldn't require character substitutions. Right now, I'm using SSI to import the JS file directly into the textarea.

joh6nn
10-24-2002, 10:44 PM
<script>
document.formname.textarea.value = "i\<etc.";
<script>

?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum