...

View Full Version : Wierd Frame 'Bug'? help...



king2k5
04-28-2006, 11:44 PM
Ok, so when you have a frame, and you hit refresh, it should go to the pages that are in the frame script right? Mine doesnt...

Here is my frame script:



<html>
<head><title>Dark Visions</title></head>
<frameset cols="4*,*">
<frameset rows="60,*"">
<frame name=menupane src="http://darkvisions.net/links.php" scrolling="no">
<frameset cols="200,*">
<frame name=charpane src="http://darkvisions.net/charpane.php">
<frame name=mainpane src="http://darkvisions.net/main.php">
</frameset>
</frameset>
<frame name=news src="http://darkvisions.net/news.php">
</frameset>
</html>


Now, whatever page im on, and i hit refresh, it will go to the page i refreshed from, not to main.php... this is causing a lot of bugs on my site... Thanks for your help.

Soresy
04-28-2006, 11:55 PM
Ok, so when you have a frame, and you hit refresh, it should go to the pages that are in the frame script right? Mine doesnt...

Here is my frame script:



<html>
<head><title>Dark Visions</title></head>
<frameset cols="4*,*">
<frameset rows="60","*">
<frame name=menupane src="http://darkvisions.net/links.php" scrolling="no">
<frameset cols="200,*">
<frame name=charpane src="http://darkvisions.net/charpane.php">
<frame name=mainpane src="http://darkvisions.net/main.php">
</frameset>
</frameset>
<frame name=news src="http://darkvisions.net/news.php">
</frameset>
</html>


Now, whatever page im on, and i hit refresh, it will go to the page i refreshed from, not to main.php... this is causing a lot of bugs on my site... Thanks for your help.

Well first off, from the look of the syntax highlighting you have some old HTML errors. It could be just the way you wrote the html b0rking up.

Try


<html>
<head><title>Dark Visions</title></head>
<frameset cols="4*,*">
<frameset rows="60,*">
<frame name="menupane" src="http://darkvisions.net/links.php" scrolling="no">
<frameset cols="200,*">
<frame name="charpane" src="http://darkvisions.net/charpane.php">
<frame name="mainpane" src="http://darkvisions.net/main.php">
</frameset>
</frameset>
<frame name="news" src="http://darkvisions.net/news.php">
</frameset>
</html>

_Aerospace_Eng_
04-28-2006, 11:56 PM
Why are you using frames in the first place? It also doesn't help that the code for your framed page is bad. Try this

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<title><title>Dark Visions</title></title>
</head>
<frameset cols="*,200">
<frameset rows="60,*">
<frame name="menupane" src="http://darkvisions.net/links.php" scrolling="no">
<frameset cols="200,*">
<frame name="charpane" src="http://darkvisions.net/charpane.php">
<frame name="mainpane" src="http://darkvisions.net/main.php">
</frameset>
</frameset>
<frame name="news" src="http://darkvisions.net/news.php">
</frameset>
</html>
<noframes><body>
</body>
</noframes></html>
good luck with search engines. Soresy has the right idea though there are still some messed up parts. Mainly here

<frameset cols="4*,*">
<frameset rows="60,*"">

king2k5
04-29-2006, 12:02 AM
im still not refreshing to main.php.. it just refreshes the page where i hit refresh

Soresy
04-29-2006, 12:19 AM
Well, is this online somewhere so we can take a look?

king2k5
04-29-2006, 01:27 AM
yes, go to www.darkvisions.net/main.html .... if you dont wanna see the error things you can create an account at www.darkvisions.net...

Soresy
04-29-2006, 02:08 AM
I think at this point your main problem should be the huge amount of PHP/SQL problems.

But as for the frame thing, I've nevered worked with Frames so I have no idea why it's doing that.

king2k5
04-29-2006, 02:09 AM
what huge amount of PHP/SQL problems?

bustamelon
04-29-2006, 05:21 AM
what huge amount of PHP/SQL problems?

Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 12 in /home/.excalibur/darkvis1/darkvisions.net/links.php on line 50
Home
Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 13 in /home/.excalibur/darkvis1/darkvisions.net/links.php on line 60
Inbox Leader Boards Preferences Inventory
Vernos(Town) Polls Army Forum Logout
Registered Users: 762


:. Character Pane

Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 12 in /home/.excalibur/darkvis1/darkvisions.net/charpane.php on line 49

Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 12 in /home/.excalibur/darkvis1/darkvisions.net/charpane.php on line 50

Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 12 in /home/.excalibur/darkvis1/darkvisions.net/charpane.php on line 51

Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 12 in /home/.excalibur/darkvis1/darkvisions.net/charpane.php on line 52

Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 12 in /home/.excalibur/darkvis1/darkvisions.net/charpane.php on line 53

Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 12 in /home/.excalibur/darkvis1/darkvisions.net/charpane.php on line 54

Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 12 in /home/.excalibur/darkvis1/darkvisions.net/charpane.php on line 55

_Aerospace_Eng_
04-29-2006, 06:43 AM
The reload is doing what its supposed to do. Its refreshing the pages on the screen. If you want to get back to the default pages you need to do a hard refresh CTRL+F5

king2k5
04-29-2006, 02:31 PM
Ok, about the errors, i told you guys that if you didnt want to see then you would have to create an account...

and is there anyway i could make it so when someone refreshes it goes to main.php...
like..
if(REFRESH){
header("Location: http://darkvisions.net/main.php");
}

Or something like that?

oldcrazylegs
04-29-2006, 08:49 PM
validating frameset
http://dwight.clickthesky.com/framesandiframes/



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum