...

View Full Version : CSS w/ Flash + Drop Down **HELP**



JayStang
04-28-2006, 09:41 PM
Hi guys,

I'm having some troubles with a drop down menu. Basically the menu works perfect. Right up until i add a flash swf file directly under where the menu drops down. The flash is just in a div tag with some CSS atributes. When the button is rolled over and then menu drops down it is hidden underneath the flash image, hiding a portion of the buttons in the drop down. I'm attaching a zip file with everything needed to see what exactly i'm talking about. Any help would be great!

http://ctechnow.com/jdulude/help_site.zip

Thanks,
~Jamie

_Aerospace_Eng_
04-28-2006, 10:23 PM
I'm not going to download the file only because I know the fix but in the future its best to just upload a live working example rather than have someone download your files and reconstruct your site themselves. Add the param

<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
if you are using the embed tag (you shouldn't be, read this (http://www.alistapart.com/articles/flashsatay/)) then you need to add wmode="transparent" to the embed tag as well.

JayStang
04-28-2006, 10:44 PM
aerospace. Thanks for the responce.

First off the prob with using the param tag is i'm not using an object tag to display the flash. I'm actually using javascript to display it (do to stupid IE new updates that make you click to activate the flash, the javascript will display it w/o having to click). However i did give it a shot and i put the object tags back in and added the param tag and it worked great in IE but it still displayed the same problem in Firefox.

Any other thoughts/ideas?

Thanks,
~Jamie

_Aerospace_Eng_
04-28-2006, 10:51 PM
Did you add wmode="transparent" to the embed tag as well? Can you post your object code or the script you are using for your flash?

JayStang
04-28-2006, 10:59 PM
Ok i got it all squared away. You were right and i did forget to add the wmode="transparent" to the embed.

I did get it to work with the javascript. All i needed to add was

fo.addParam("wmode","transparent");

Thanks again for the help,
~Jamie



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum