...

View Full Version : not sure what I need



Rideswildhorses
10-24-2002, 03:45 AM
Hello Everyone,
I am new to this forum, I was referred here by someone else on a Front Page forum.

This is what I want to do, maybe someone here could help me build a basic code that I can edit to suit my site.

I have a page with a large 2 columned table in the body.

In the right side I want to put Iframe, and in the left side I want to put links to change the pages in the iframe.

I'm sure this is very simple to some of you, but this is my first experience with working with frames of any kind.

I appreciate your help in advance.

Thanks

~Susan

Mhtml
10-24-2002, 12:47 PM
Okey doke, I can see where you'r comin' from.

You have your table with the two columns (we won't worry about attributes eg:bgcolor etc):


<table>
<tr>
<td></td><td></td>
</tr>
</table>

Now you need to put in your Iframe!:


<table>
<tr>
<td></td><td><iframe src="yourpage.html" name="MainFrame"></iframe>
</tr>
</table>

Ok now you need to add the links!:


<table>
<tr>
<td>
<a href="page.html" target="MainFrame" >Link</a><br>
<a href="page.html" target="MainFrame" >Link</a><br>
<a href="page.html" target="MainFrame" >Link</a><br>
<a href="page.html" target="MainFrame" >Link</a><br>
</td><td><iframe src="yourpage.html" name="MainFrame"></iframe>
</tr>
</table>

There you have it, the ifram tags are quite easy to use, but you have to make sure to name it. In this example I have called it MainFrame, so if you look at your links all you need to insert is target="MainFrame" or whatever you call your Iframe!.

Hope this answers your question.

Rideswildhorses
10-24-2002, 03:16 PM
Mhtml,
You are an absolute angel of mercy! Thank you soooooooo much!!
~Susan:thumbsup:

beetle
10-25-2002, 06:06 PM
Don't forget that closing TD tag!
<table>
<tr>
<td>
<a href="page.html" target="MainFrame" >Link</a><br>
<a href="page.html" target="MainFrame" >Link</a><br>
<a href="page.html" target="MainFrame" >Link</a><br>
<a href="page.html" target="MainFrame" >Link</a><br>
</td><td><iframe src="yourpage.html" name="MainFrame"></iframe></td>
</tr>
</table>

Rideswildhorses
10-25-2002, 06:10 PM
Got it, Thank you!!

I have my iframes in place and they are working great! As soon as I finish the renovation on my site, I will post a link for you all to see what I have done.

Thanks again for all the help! ;)

~Rides

Rideswildhorses
10-25-2002, 06:14 PM
The way I handled it is, I just copied and pasted into the table I wanted it in, in the Normal View of FP with the Special Paste as HTML option, then I dragged the links to the other cell, where I wanted them.
Front Page did the rest! So I did get the code you were concerned with me losing.

Thanks again.

Mhtml
10-26-2002, 02:27 AM
:)

Rideswildhorses
10-26-2002, 06:26 AM
Are you saying I am verbose? :eek:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum