...

View Full Version : Pulling data in from another website



brodemeyer
04-25-2006, 05:50 PM
I am working on a Loan Rate Pricing Model for the bank I work for and currently we use some rates that are on another website that are inside of a table, they do not have names they are just coded in the website. But anyways, the Loan Rate Pricing Model I am trying to create takes the rates and does some calcualtions with them to arrive at our rate and I thought rather than having to update the rates on my Loan Rate Pricing Model if it was possible to pull the numbers I need in from the other website automatically and have it use the numbers in the calcualtion so that if they update their website then our calculation would use the new rates. I know this is probably a bit of a stretch but I thought I would just check to see if it was possible. I don't know if it would be possbile even if they had give the field a name and assigned a value to it but I just thought I would check with some experts, thanks in advance for your input.

Arbitrator
04-25-2006, 08:56 PM
Hmm... I would think this would be possible if you had some automated code or program that loaded their page and extracted the desired information. However, doing so would mean loading their page every time your page is loaded and thus you'd be in essence stealing their bandwidth. At any rate I don't think this is possible with HTML or CSS.

nathan_lamothe
04-25-2006, 09:23 PM
I suspect you would also run into nasty problems if they ever changed the format of their page, or heavens forbid their site went down for a day while you were still trying to calculate loans...

You've considered these issues?

brodemeyer
04-25-2006, 10:00 PM
Yeah I have thought about the fact of them changing their site or it being down but I am willing to deal with that if I need to at that time. Thank you for your suggestions I will keep trying to dig for a solution.

felgall
04-25-2006, 10:16 PM
You can probably do it with server side scripting. Probably the best place to start is to get their permission to access their data like that.

brodemeyer
04-25-2006, 10:31 PM
I will check with them and see if that is a possibility, thank you.

brodemeyer
05-03-2006, 05:58 PM
Anyone else have any more ideas?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum