...

View Full Version : AMD Sempron for server?



Cheeseboy
04-15-2006, 04:25 AM
Hi, i was wondering if any processor of the Sempron work work well on a Server?
I would love to hear peoples oppinions that have used one.

Thanks:thumbsup:

JamieR
04-15-2006, 04:09 PM
It depends on what the servers going to be used for..I mean, if you was building a development server for home use to say run Linux and Apache or whatever and it wasn't being used that much in terms of users and stuff then yeah I guess a Sempron would be fine. However it is a lower end desktop processor, not a server processor. If you're going to be using the server for more high end stuff or a server that has a lot of users requesting data from it then you're going to need a processor which has been designed for servers - usually the Xeon, Athlon MP or Opteron.

missing-score
04-15-2006, 08:18 PM
Yeah definatley, semprons are great for desktop machines (suprisingly more powerful than you might think (built my girl a PC for her birthday and was shocked to say the least at how powerful the sempron was), but you really dont want to rely on it for a busy web server). For lower end, go for a Pentium 4, and if you have alot of money to spend go for a Dual Core/Dual Processor system.

JamieR
04-16-2006, 03:41 PM
Well for low end web servers Sempron would be fine I guess...I mean, in terms of the Intel equivilant of the Sempron - the Celeron, I know a few people who run Linux webservers with Intel Celeron processors (i.e. one guy I know has a web server that is a 2.0ghz socket 478 celeron with 256mb ram and a 40gb hdd) and it runs really well. However, as Missing-Score already said, you don't want to rely on a desktop processor for a busy webserver.

Jamie.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum