...

View Full Version : xxx.mydomain.com, with IIS how do I make those?



oracleguy
06-26-2002, 08:38 PM
I want to make in IIS, add a header in before my domain in so that it can be a different site.

So how do I get IIS to make something as: http://site2.localhost

actually work and redirect to a different directory than the main site?

Roy Sinclair
06-27-2002, 05:03 PM
What Dave said is true, the part he didn't know is really very simple.

Using the IIS Administrator via the MMC you add a new web site to IIS and when it asks for a "Host Header" you add site2.localhost in that field (do not prefix it with http://)

Later you can find the host header field under the "Advanced" properties of the IP Address field.

oracleguy
06-28-2002, 04:44 AM
One thing I haven't been able to find tho, is in IIS4 you can create additional websites from the MMC console but in IIS5 I haven't been able to find where to. I know how to create VDs but I can find where to create new sites.

Anyone know?

Roy Sinclair
06-28-2002, 05:08 AM
Right-click on the tree at the level above the default site, one of the options is to create a new site.

oracleguy
06-29-2002, 06:36 AM
The only options under 'All tasks' is to check server extentions... Hmmm... would it matter that I'm running IIS5 on Win2k Pro?

Morgoth
07-07-2002, 10:29 AM
I am running the same thing, and I can't do it either.
When I click on the label that is named after my computer name, and go to "All Tasks", there is only "Upgrade Extensions". When I click on that botton, it says, in a popup window, 'There is no web named "".'

I guess it doesn't want me to upgrade?

BrainJar
07-20-2002, 07:55 PM
You can't have multiple sites under IIS in Win2K Pro, you need Win2K Server. It's just like PWS vs. IIS on WinNT. Guess Microsoft needs more money.

oracleguy
07-21-2002, 02:31 AM
Yeah I figured that out. So I bought a copy of Win2k Server and built a computer to use it on.

Morgoth
07-22-2002, 04:41 AM
That's just a bunch of hobdoble.

Anyways, I don't really need it. It's just nice to know if I could ever use it.

I think I am acting funny with my server. I want all the features i can get, but I really don't need them.

Like a pop3 server... No need for e-mail to be sent back. I just need to send it. I just want it.

Same with this... I just want it... For no real reason! STOP ME BEFORE I BUY A SERVER TOWER.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum