View Full Version : File Sharing Through WAN

03-15-2006, 03:18 AM
Hi, I need a way to share certain files/folders over the net to virtually anyone who has the correct address for my PC.

I was able to do this when I had my computer directly connected to the ADSL router and used WinXP Access Manager to create a Temp IP address.
This worked fine, but now I have more computers so this required me to get a router (with Wi-Fi for the laptop). But now the router won't let me use the Access Manager to connect to the ADSL service. The router just connects on its own and distributes the connection through the LAN (Though I'm sure that's not news to a lot of you).

Is there anyway to do this, without having to connect a computer directly to the ADSL modem and then with another NIC, connect the router to that PC..?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

03-15-2006, 06:32 AM
Well, you could configure your router to forward the correct port from your router to the PC you want to access. Alternatively you could put that computer in your DMZ if your router has that option.

03-15-2006, 06:30 PM
Yeah, i've tried the DMZ, but it still does not work :(
When you say port forwarding on the router, which router are you referring to...the ADSL router...or the LAN router?

because I don't think the LAN router has the capability to do port forwarding

03-19-2006, 12:11 PM
...why you need incoming file access to multiple computers on your internal network? Seems kind of risky to me. If you used the idea you've discounted; using your original PC in series with your LAN's router as a firewall and just uploaded files from the rest of the LAN clients to a common directory it would be easier anyways as well as more secure.:confused:

03-19-2006, 06:31 PM
yes i'm very well aware that what i want to do is risky. That's not the issue right now.
I need to be able to access my folder from another location, and allow certain ppl who know the IP address to access files. And I don't necessarily need it for multiple computers. Just one.

And the idea you say I've discounted..(using the "main" system as the gateway/in series with the router)...well that's just simply NOT an option. My main computer is nowhere near the routers so I'd have to relocate the entire layout of my office.