...

View Full Version : Recording albums on my computer



SmokingMan
03-15-2006, 01:38 AM
I have a few hundred albums (yeah, vinyl), I would like to record on my computer so I can burn them to CD. I have the software and the sound card to plug into, but I have a question. Do I connect my turntable directly to my sound card, or do I run it through an amplifier first, and then from the amp to the sound card? I can't see the point of buying CD's or downloading the music when I already have the album. Besides, a lot of this music can't be found anymore, and I want to preserve it digitally.

CWMcVey
03-19-2006, 01:35 PM
...but with out the proper hardware you're sunk. As you might recall record players typically do not put out the usual "line" level output. Record players actually have an output called Phono. Remember those inputs on the back of the Pioneer? ;) The short of it is the record player outputs a signal of a different impedance and cannot be plugged directly into the Line-in port on your sound card without a lot of horrible rumbling and noise. There is a hardware solution I have seen before that but damned if I can find it at the moment. If I do I will add later.

Otherwise a workaround would be either if your receiver/amplifier has a line out perhaps OR even a tape loop set of in/outputs.

CWMcVey
03-20-2006, 03:48 AM
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/knowledgecenter/howto/FromVinyltoComputer_StepByStep.aspx

And also the device I was talking about but I cant find one for sale in USD

http://www.savastore.com/productinfo/product.aspx?catalog_name=Savastore&product_id=10265384&pid=44



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum