...

View Full Version : ASP - Creating a table in existing db



Cuttie0506
03-02-2006, 08:05 AM
Hi all...

I have a question... i have been searching answer for this for quite a l0ng time...

I'm using asp and microsoft access..

I have a database name, "db1.mdb"

I want to create a new table inside this database after submittin a name in my form..

But how do i write my sql statement to execute this?

Thanx

Baleric
03-02-2006, 08:28 AM
why do u want to do this?

Cuttie0506
03-02-2006, 08:58 AM
so that when a user enter a new class, it will automatic create a table in db with that name.. and i will need that table to insert some data

Baleric
03-02-2006, 09:15 AM
i mean, why do u want to do this, what will th end result be, how are u going to use it in ur asp pages?

Cuttie0506
03-02-2006, 11:07 AM
in the end i just want to create a table with that name only..

aniway, i solved it.. thanx aniway!

Cuttie0506
03-03-2006, 02:02 AM
ya, wanna ask u something.. can we change the name of the table using sal statement? i know we can change the name of column..

Roelf
03-03-2006, 06:44 AM
I think you have to drop the table and re-create it with the new name.

I seriously think your db-design is wrong. A user entering a new class, is data, not structure. So if this event happens, it should be entered as data. Not by creating a new table.

Cuttie0506
03-03-2006, 08:43 AM
ya, but because my application works in this way, as i want to create a new table automatically..

thanx aniway



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum