View Full Version : pci.sys either corrupt or not found.

02-26-2006, 04:50 PM
Ok, so after searching google i found this is a problem with failing pci hardware.
but the only pci card i have plugged in is the CPU.

can this be the problem? if the cpu hardware failed i wouldn't be able to boot up would i?

when i do boot i get a black screen saying pci.sys is corrupt or not found.

the hard drive boots find on a different system.

also, i have two 64mb RAM sticks in there. if i remove one of the two (doesn't matter which one) i can boot to the 'you pc was not shutdown properlly' screen. when i select, say for example, 'start windows normally' i freeze.

02-26-2006, 06:37 PM
the CPU is not PCI hardware. If your CPU was dead then your computer wouldnt not function what so ever.

It sounds like your installation of your OS (what OS are you running?) is corrupt to that motherboard..so basically just totally reinstall.

On the other hand, it sounds like your motherboard could be shot seeing as you can only run it with one stick of RAM...are they both indentical in terms of speed etc?

02-27-2006, 03:15 PM
both sticks are, and as i said - i can get it to the 'windows was not shut down properlly' screen.

everything i read on the internet about this problem says it's a pci card problem or a RAM problem.

both sticks of ram are 64mb.

02-27-2006, 04:29 PM
In terms of the ram, have you tried running memtest? it comes as a free bootable ISO image which you burn to cd and then boot from. Or can't your computer even get that far when both sticks of ram are installed?


02-27-2006, 07:09 PM
with one stick i get too the 'windows not properlly shut down' with both i can't boot up - 50% of the time it's a black screen hang - other times i get 'cannot load because pci.sys is corrupt or not found'

02-27-2006, 07:56 PM
have you run memtest on the ram and tried to reinstall windows from scratch?

02-27-2006, 08:38 PM
have you run memtest on the ram and tried to reinstall windows from scratch?

havn't run memtest yet - i'm not at home.

and reinstalling windows.... well.... i'm on attempt 6 for that HDD now... i really don't wanna do it again :S

02-28-2006, 09:07 PM
1) try it sometime, it could be that your RAM is defective :)
2) Hmm....Do you get any problems when you're installing?

I think the motherboard is defective personally...

02-28-2006, 09:46 PM
no problems installing - it's a 'junker' pc i built from spare parts. all components USED to work, however i cannot ensure they have not been damaged moving them into and out of storage.

thankyou all for your input - i guess i'l re-install again, check the RAM and then start swapping components.