View Full Version : 1GB of RAM showing up as 32MB?

02-13-2006, 10:37 PM
... has anyone experienced this before and if so how to solve it?

I'm building a PC for a friend based on an Intel D845GVSR motherboard and celeron chip but when i plug the RAM into either DIMM socket it only detects as 32mb. Am using 1GB PC2700 333 RAM.

My instinct is that the RAM is dodgy but was wondering if I could have done something wrong?

02-13-2006, 11:05 PM
hi sweenster,

I have experienced this sort of thing (usually after power surges/cuts :eek: ) so it could be the ram is dodgy.
check that the ram is compatible with the MB.
check that the BIOS supports this ram - should do if MB does
its worth running some memory testing software - most Linux install cds provide a free memory tester.
can you test it on another MB?
are you using anti-static straps/mats when you install ?

if the ram is faulty, you may be able to get it replaced.

02-14-2006, 12:50 AM
Sounds to me that either the RAM is dodgy or that the motherboard doesn't support it. However, if the motherboard is brand new then I doubt it.

I'd try it in another machine and if it is still showing up at 32mb, it's a dud.


02-17-2006, 08:46 AM
To my opinion the DIMM socket could be the trouble some guy which you've to check it out. Just go thrugh the manual and find out the motherboards who support this RAM. Try to install it in the motherboard mentioned in the manual at someone else's place. If still it shows the same problem, try to replace it..

02-18-2006, 03:39 PM
where are you seeing the 32MB notification ? are you sure you are not just seeing the graphic cards shared memory notification which often shows up when the machine posts ?