View Full Version : php noob trying to learn.

Keyser520
02-13-2006, 06:55 PM
I'm trying to get my hands wet with some simple php, as I've never used it before.

I know that I can read the contents of a file and print it out on screen by
$y=file_get_contents($a);
echo $y;

where $a is the name of the file.

What I want to do is have the users click different buttons, each of which would send them to a link such as /index.php?a=filename.txt or /index.php?a=filename2.txt or /index.php?a=filename3.txt

I can't figure out how to get my code to READ what that filename is.

I thought I could just send it to the url as /index.php?a=filename.txt and then do

$y=file_get_contents($a);
echo $y;

but it returns nothing.

Help please.

chump2877
02-13-2006, 06:59 PM
$y=file_get_contents($_GET['a']);
echo $y;

Keyser520
02-13-2006, 07:08 PM
awesome. thanks..

now what could i do to make the following happen?

Send a variable "a" , append a .txt to it, and then call it with the

echo $y;

vinyl-junkie
02-13-2006, 07:11 PM
$y=file_get_contents($_GET['a'].".txt");
echo $y;

chump2877
02-13-2006, 07:12 PM
$file = $_GET['a'] . ".txt";
$y=file_get_contents($file );
echo $y;

Keyser520
02-13-2006, 07:12 PM
awesome. thanks..

now what could i do to make the following happen?

Send a variable "a" , append a .txt to it, and then call it with the

echo $y;

answered my own question

<html>
<body>

<?php

$b=($_GET['a']).".txt";
echo $b;
echo $y;

?>

</html>
</body>

Now, will there be any problem with this method if more than one person is using the page at the same time? Will the variables get confused based on the last person to visit a site or is localally stored?

chump2877
02-13-2006, 07:15 PM
how many people open and read a file is only limited by the bandwidth on your server

Keyser520
02-13-2006, 07:21 PM
how many people open and read a file is only limited by the bandwidth on your server