...

View Full Version : Urgent computer help needed – I can’t see my task bar!



jp2
01-25-2006, 01:37 AM
OK, I have been pulling my hair out about this for hours now and I just can’t work it out.

I run a 3 monitor setup. 3 screens running simultaneously on the same machine, I’m not sure if this has any relevance to the problem or not but I thought I better mention it just in case. Up until a few hours ago I was running some software called “ultramon”. It basically allows you to use the task bar on all of the screens rather than just the main one.

While using my computer for general tasks… it froze. I restarted it thinking everything would be fine, but it wasn’t. For some reason I can’t get my main task bar to show. (the bar at the bottom of the screen with the START menu on it). When I boot up my computer I can see it for a second, but then it just disappears and for the life of me I can’t get it to display again.

I have uninstalled ultramon thinking that this could be causing it, but that didn’t help at all. I have also tried playing around with the task bar menu in the control panel, still nothing.

If I press the windows key the start menu comes up, but just without the task bar. Its only a small bug but it is VERY annoying. Especially when you are trying to multi task.

I will send $10 over via paypal to anyone who can help me fix this.

Any help is MUCH obliged.

Thanks!
Jon

mark87
01-25-2006, 02:40 AM
Sure you can't just drag it up?

Try this - http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;318027

smartalecc5
01-26-2006, 02:13 PM
lol - did that work?

Basscyst
01-27-2006, 11:24 PM
Try pressing ctrl-alt-delete and going to task manager. Then go to file --> new task. type: explorer.exe and press enter. If that works, something might be shutting down explorer on startup, which isn't very cool.

Basscyst

mark87
01-27-2006, 11:28 PM
Try pressing ctrl-alt-delete and going to task manager. Then go to file --> new task. type: explorer.exe and press enter. If that works, something might be shutting down explorer on startup, which isn't very cool.

Basscyst

I doubt that'd be the case as he can get to the start menu.

Basscyst
01-27-2006, 11:49 PM
I doubt that'd be the case as he can get to the start menu.


Try opening up Task manager going to processes and shutting down all instances of explorer and see what happens.

Edit: Oh I see what he's saying, he CAN get to the startmenu, just not the bar. Reading comprehension FTW. Your answer sounds most likely.

Basscyst



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum