...

View Full Version : Form and ASP questions



sgrich
06-26-2002, 03:02 AM
I have a few questions and wondering if anyone can help me or point me to the right direction.

I have a form and using ASP will submit the results to an email address:

1. Is there a way that the person can "save" their form info or will they lose it? Either saving it while working on it or after hitting submit?

2. How would you code so the person can choose from a menu the person or persons they wish the results to go to? This would be instead of hardcoding it in the ASP code or having them enter it into a text box. The goal is that they can send it to mulitple people and they can choose the names of the people from a drop down list.

3. Is there a way to allow the user to upload an attacment and then have it submitted with the form results?

I know this is alot but I've searched many websites and can not find this info. Any thoughts would be most helpful. I am not using a database either so I don't know if I would need to.

Thanks
Sarah

QuackHead
06-26-2002, 04:51 AM
You'll have to use some sort of database, or a TON of cookies (I'd recommend the DB route ;))

Now, I'll try and point you on your questions...

1) Is there a way that the person can "save" their form info or will they lose it? Either saving it while working on it or after hitting submit?

There could be a way to save all this info, and it'd be to write the info to the database.

2) How would you code so the person can choose from a menu the person or persons they wish the results to go to? This would be instead of hardcoding it in the ASP code or having them enter it into a text box. The goal is that they can send it to mulitple people and they can choose the names of the people from a drop down list.

This will be easy once you have a database of users.

3) Is there a way to allow the user to upload an attacment and then have it submitted with the form results?

Yes there is, this will be the MOST difficult thing to do of the 3


See if you can get yourself started on these things, and if you need some help, feel free to post.

~Quack

sgrich
06-26-2002, 05:12 AM
Thanks.

I thought I would need a database for #1 but is there a way to do #2 without a database? Maybe listing the names as options and then using a variable for what is chosen?

QuackHead
06-26-2002, 05:14 AM
Yes, you could do that for #2, but you'd have to hard code all the options.

This is alright if you know those options will never change, but I think it'd be much better to do it with a DB.

Just my 2 cents

~Quack :thumbsup:

QuackHead
06-26-2002, 06:00 AM
uh.. Dave, she asked about doing #2 without a database...

~Quack



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum